A1GP »

Great Britain lead Sepang practice.

Danny Watts led the way for Team Great Britain at Sepang as the on-track action kicked off for the third round of the A1GP season.

Watts ran throughout the day at the Malaysian circuit, heading the first part of the rookie session before setting the fastest time of the day during second official practice.

The session for rookie drivers and developing nations was headed by Nicolas Prost, who continued to show the impressive pace displayed in China with a lap of 1min 50.679secs during the second part of the session.

It left the Frenchman as the only driver to better the 1min 51sec marker, with Watts second and Earl Bamber third for New Zealand on his return to the wheel of Black Beauty.

“Chengdu was mostly about bumps rather than turns but this track is really amazing,” pacesetter Prost reflected. “I was really looking forward to coming here because it's one of the nicest tracks in the world, and I think it was the first time we could get the real potential out the car, especially in the quick corners. Turns five and six, the quick left and right, in particular were pretty good.”

The afternoon session, where race drivers joined the fray, saw Watts set the quickest time of the time with a best lap of 1min 50.038secs.

It allowed the British driver to outpace Swiss ace Neel Jani by just 0.072secs, with Jani showing the kind of speed that allowed him to dominate the Malaysian race weekend last season – with a double pole position and double win.

“With the extra running I got this morning I was always going to be there or thereabouts,” Watts said. “I think looking at the times, the top ten are very close and there's hardly anything in it. It will be the same story tomorrow so it will be very tight at the top.”

Narain Karthikeyan was third fastest for Team India ahead of France's Loic Duval while the top six was completed by Jeroen Bleekemolen and Felipe Albuquerque.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Danny Watts - A1 Team Great Britain [Pic credit: A1GP]
Neel Jani [Pic credit: A1GP]
Mark Gallagher and Adam Carroll lift the A1GP trophy [Pic credit: A1GP]
Adam Carroll - A1 Team Ireland [Pic credit: A1GP]
Adam Carroll - A1 Team Ireland [Pic credit: A1GP]
Adam Carroll [Pic credit: A1GP]
Adam Carroll [Pic credit: A1GP]
Adam Carroll [Pic credit: A1GP]
Jeroen Bleekemolen - A1 Team Netherlands [Pic credit: A1GP]
Aaron Lim will make his A1GP race debut for Team Malaysia at Brands Hatch
Robert Doornbos during practice in the Algarve [Pic credit: A1GP]
Earl Bamber - A1 Team New Zealand [Pic credit: A1GP]
Loic Duval - A1 Team France [Pic credit: A1GP]
The crash at the start of the Sepang sprint race [Pic credit: A1GP]
Danny Watts - A1 Team Great Britain [Pic credit: A1GP]
Danny Watts - A1 Team Great Britain [Pic credit: A1GP]
Marco Andretti - A1 Team USA [Pic credit: A1GP]
Adam Carroll - A1 Team Ireland [Pic credit: A1GP]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.