Team Peugeot Total's Franck Montagny set the fastest lap of the week so far during Thursday's night practice session for the annual Petit Le Mans powered by MAZDA6.

The fast Frenchman turned a lap of 1min 07.912secs in the first of the factory 908 HDi diesel-powered coupes. Montagny, a two-time winner in the American Le Mans Series last season, will drive in the 1,000-mile/10-hour classic with countryman Stephane Sarrazin.

Montagny was 0.784 seconds ahead of Nic Minassian in the second Peugeot. The 2006 pole-winner at Road Atlanta posted a best lap of 1min 08.696secs in the prototype he will drive with Pedro Lamy. Audi Sport Team Joest's Dindo Capello, the three-time and defending race winner with team-mate Allan McNish, sat third at 1min 09.027secs.

Diesels held the top four spots with de Ferran Motorsports' Simon Pagenaud ending as the best of the E10-powered runners with a lap of 1min 09.499secs. He will drive the XM Acura ARX-02a with team owner Gil de Ferran and Scott Dixon.

Klaus Graf was fastest in LMP2 for the second straight session behind the wheel of Team Cytosport's Porsche RS Spyder. The German's best lap of 1min 12.107secs - driving the prototype with team owner Greg Pickett and Porsche factory pilot Sascha Maassen - gave him a 0.769-second advantage over Adrian Fernandez in Lowe's Fernandez Racing's Acura ARX-01b.

Fernandez and Luis Diaz clinched the LMP2 driver championship in the previous series round at Mosport last month. They were 1.924 seconds ahead of Ben Devlin in the third-place Dyson Racing Mazda-powered Lola B09/86 that he will drive with Butch Leitzinger and Marino Franchitti.

In GT2, Dominik Farnbacher set the session's fastest lap in Panoz Team PTG's Panoz Esperante GTLM. The young German's time of 1min 22.050secs in the Georgia-built Panoz that he will share with Ian James was a scant 0.020 seconds clear of Wolf Henzler in Farnbacher Loles Racing's Porsche 911 GT3 RSR. He is driving with Dirk Werner.

Risi Competizione's Jaime Melo sat third in class with a lap of 1min 22.101secs in the team's Ferrari F430 GT. He is teaming with Pierre Kaffer and Mika Salo, the same trio that won in class at the Le Mans 24 Hours in June.

Earlier, Sarrazin was the quickest driver around Road Atlanta in the opening session of the day with a lap of 1min 08.138secs in the diesel-powered Peugeot 908 HDi.

Sarrazin, the first driver in history to win three consecutive pole positions at Le Mans, was 0.904 seconds better than Nic Minassian in the second Peugeot. Past IndyCar and Indy 500 champion Scott Dixon was third in de Ferran Motorsports' Acura ARX-02a, turning a lap of 1min 09.235secs on his next-to-last lap in the session to move ahead of Audi Sport Team Joest's two Audi R15 TDIs.

Dyson Racing was quickest in LMP2 for the second consecutive session. Guy Smith's best lap of 1min 11.609secs in the Mazda-powered Lola B09/86 coupe that he is driving with Chris Dyson sat 0.365 seconds ahead of Diaz in the Lowe's Fernandez Racing's Acura ARX-01b. Their car was 0.695 seconds ahead of Maassen in Team Cytosport's Porsche RS Spyder.

In GT2, BMW Rahal Letterman Racing Team's Dirk M?ller set the fastest time of the session with a lap of 1:20.975 in the BMW M3 that he will drive with Tommy Milner and J?rg M?ller, who was quickest in Wednesday's test session.


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment