Just as he had when bowing out of IndyCars, Gil de Ferran ended his racing career with one last victory, as he and team-mate Simon Pagenaud beat off the LMP2 Acura of Lowe's Fernandez Racing in a close Monterey Sports Car Championships feature at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca.

de Ferran went head-to-head with fellow veteran owner-driver Adrian Fernandez before winning his fifth race of the season in the eponymous Acura ARX-02a by just 0.662secs in what proved to be an epic final race of 2009.

Fernandez and co-driver Luis Diaz took their eighth LMP2 class win of the season to close their championship year in grand style, tying the class record for victories in a season established by Penske Racing last season, and were joined as series champions by Patr?n Highcroft Racing's David Brabham and Scott Sharp, who took third on the road to complete an Acura podium sweep, but did enough to confirm the LMP1 team and driver titles with David Brabham and Scott Sharp.

J?rg Bergmeister and Patrick Long won the GT2 class for Flying Lizard Motorsports, a victory enhanced by driver championships for the pair and the second straight team title for the Porsche-mounted Lizards. Bergmeister finished 1.037secs ahead of Corvette Racing's Jan Magnussen after the two cars made side-to-side contact coming out of the final turn. As they continued to beat on each other towards the finish line, Magnussen went around hard into the outside wall, but still claimed second place.

Farnbacher Loles Racing's Porsche 911 GT3 RSR of Wolf Henzler and Pierre Ehret were third in class.

Shane Lewis and Mitch Pagerey won in the Challenge class for Velox Racing. The pairing, driving together for the first time, took a 0.498-second victory over ORBIT Racing's duo of Guy Cosmo and John Baker. Gruppe Orange's Bob Faieta and Wesley Hoaglund placed third, another 16 seconds back, but fell short of winning the class championship, despite the Snow Racing Porsche of Martin and Melanie Snow retiring early on. Three victories earlier in the season were enough to win the class drivers' championship however.


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment