BMW Rahal Letterman Racing retain drivers for 2010 ALMS

Bill Auberlen, Joey Hand, Tommy Milner and Dirk Müller to return for BMW Rahal Letterman Racing in 2010.
BMW of North America announced Friday that it has signed Bill Auberlen, Joey Hand, Tommy Milner and Dirk Muller to drive for the BMW Rahal Letterman Racing Team in the 2010 American Le Mans Series.

This will be the second season of competition for the Hilliard, Ohio-based team. The experienced quartet piloted two GT-class BMW M3s to third in ALMS Manufacturer points in 2009 in a first-year season that delivered one victory, five podium finishes, two one-two M3 qualifying efforts, and three fastest race laps.

Auberlen and Hand drove to the team's first win at Road America on August 16 and finished the season 14th in the Driver points. Milner and Muller finished fourth in Drivers' points and brought home the team's second 2009 victory on October 31 at the inaugural Asian Le Mans Series race in Okayama, Japan.

In 2010, BMW of North America will celebrate the 35th anniversary of the company's March 1975 incorporation, as well as its first major sports car racing victory, the 12 Hours of Sebring, also in March of 1975.

"2009 was the inaugural season with this new M3 racing car and we needed to prove our competitiveness," said Martin Birkmann, motorsport manager, BMW of North America. "Looking back this can be seen as accomplished.

"Looking forward, becoming better yet is a target. Using the well oiled machine of cars, drivers and team who all have developed tremendously over the past season is the best way to further raise the bar. And, if '09 is an indication then our fans should be ready for a great show delivered by the team, these four men and the two cars."

"Simultaneously developing a new race car and a new team is always particularly challenging to the drivers involved, but last year Bill, Joey, Tommy, and Dirk made things go much more smoothly than we had hoped," added RLR team boss Bobby Rahal. "Continuity is a key component in building a championship race team, and we couldn't be happier to see that all four of these talented drivers will be returning with us for 2010."

The first official test of the 2010 ALMS will be held at Sebring International Raceway on February 22–23, four weeks before the season-opening race, the 12 Hours of Sebring on March 20.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
American Lemans Series.  14-16 August 2009. Road America. Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin USA. #90 and #92 Rahal letterman`s BMW.
American Lemans Series.  29-30 August 2009.  Grand Prix of Mosport.  Mosport International Speedway. Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada. #92 Rahal Letterman Racing BMW.
American Lemans Series. 7-9 August, 2009. Acura Sports Car Challenge. Mid Ohio Sportscar Course. Lexington, Ohio. #92 Rahal Letterman BMW M3.
American Lemans Series. 9-11 October, 2009. Monterey Sports Car Championship. Laguna Seca Raceway. Monterey California, USA. #90 Rahal Letterman BMW.

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.