The Saleen S7-R of Thomas Erdos and Ian McKellar Jr took victory in a rain-shortened fifth round of the championship at Croft in North Yorkshire this afternoon, Sunday.

Brazilian Erdos took control of the race on a damp track before handing over to McKellar, who brought the car home just under a minute clear of David Warnock and Mike Jordan in the Lister Storm.

''They were very difficult conditions at the start and for the first two or three laps I had to take it easy to find the grip but after that I was able to push,'' said Erdos.

Erdos pushed hard early on to break away from the TVR Cerbera Speed 12 of Rob Barff/Michael Caine, whilst the Lister was delayed after Warnock spun on the warm-up lap. His charge brought him back into contention but left Mike Jordan with a lot of work to do.

Jordan had the Lister up to third when the TVR brushed the second Saleen of Nathan Kinch/Tom Herridge and damaged its bodywork. A pit-stop to repair the flapping bodywork dropped the TVR behind Jordan, whilst Herridge took the Saleen to fourth overall.

The GTO class was stunning. David Jones led early on in his Porsche and was chased by former Boyzone star Shane Lynch's TVR and Robert Ross (Lotus Esprit). Simon Pullan was delayed by an early spin and battled back as did Calum Lockie who drove a brilliant first stint to put the Veloqx Motorsport Ferrari 360 NGT into the lead before the pit-stops despite having had to start from the pit lane after a late change of tyres.

However, a storming second stint put Short ahead and although Jamie Davies set about him in the Ferrari, he was unable to get close enough to attack.

Third went to Porsche of David and Godfrey Jones, their car set up for damp conditions and hence lost time as the track dried.

''Simon had a slight spin on cold tyres early in the race but he drove really well. I had a slight problem with a sticking throttle in the opening part of my stint but managed to clear it. Our luck just seems to be holding out at the minute and I just hope it stays that way,'' said Short.


1. Thomas Erdos/Ian McKellar Jr Saleen S7-R 53m11.587s 38 laps
2. David Warnock/Mike Jordan Lister Storm 54m08.506s 38 laps
3. Rob Barff/Michael Caine TVR Cerbera Speed 12 54m34.410s 38 laps
4. Tom Herridge/Nathan Kinch Saleen S7-R 37 laps

GTO Result:

1. Martin Short/Simon Pullan TVR Tuscan R 37 laps
2. Calum Lockie/Jamie Davies Ferrari 360 N-GT 37 laps
3. David Jones/Godfrey Jones Porsche 911 GT3-R 37 laps