Thomas Erdos and Ian McKellar Jr turned pole position into a dominant victory at Rockingham Motor Speedway this afternoon, Sunday, as their main title rivals failed to score points.

Despite being a lot of discomfort due to an aggravated injury, McKellar took control at the start of the race and was helped when Rob Barff in the TVR Cerbera Speed 12 was handed a stop-go penalty for an infringement on the rolling lap. Previous round winners, David Warnock and Mike Jordan, were also ruled out of the running when their Lister Storm retired on lap eight with gear selection problems.

A trouble free run to the flag by Erdos meant that he led home a Saleen S7-R one-two with team-mates Nathan Kinch and Tom Herridge taking second place in the hour long race. Rob Barff and Michael Caine eventually finished third after suffering handling and gearbox problems.

''The car was really well balanced today, Ian handed me a great car. We were lucky today with the Lister not scoring points and the TVR crew struggling with their car'' Said Erdos.

The GTO win went to Calum Lockie and Jamie Davies in their brand new Ferrari 360 N-GT. After a season of near-misses, it finally came good for the Veloqx Motorsport team in its first year in the championship, as Calum Lockie turned in a storming first stint and Jamie Davies continued to lap quicker than most of the class to bring the car home to a comfortable win.

Championship leaders Simon Pullan and Martin Short could only manage third place after leading early on when Pullan was handed a stop-go penalty. Short took the car over and was running in second place but had no answer to the tremendous pace of a charging Tim Sugden who drove a stunning stint to put himself and driving partner Steve O'Rourke into second place.

The next round of the BRDC British GT Championship is at Oulton Park, Cheshire, on August 18.


1. Ian McKellar Jr / Thomas Erdos Saleen S7-R 1h 01m16.455s 35 laps
2. Nathan Kinch / Tom Herridge Saleen S7-R 1h 01m16.673s 35 laps
3. Calum Lockie / Jamie Davies Ferrari 360 N-GT 1h 02m13.099s 35 laps (GTO winners)
4. Rob Barff / Michael Caine TVR Cerbera Speed 12 35 laps
5. Tim Sugden/Steve O'Rourke Porsche GT3-R 35 laps
6. Martin Short/Simon Pullan TVR Tuscan R 35 laps