Rollcentre Racing has secured the first win of the new Avon Tyres British GT Championship season after Dan Brown and Stuart Hall took honours in the opening race of the 2009 campaign at Oulton Park.

Brown, making his first start in the series at the age of just 17, held off the challenge of David Jones during the opening stint of the race having qualified on pole position at the wheel of the Mosler MT900 and built a lead of nine seconds over the chasing pack before pitting to hand the car over to Hall.

Rollcentre regular Hall then extended his lead before easing off in the closing stages to take the chequered flag just over seven and a half seconds clear of Godfrey Jones in the Team Pyro-run Preci-Spark Ascari KZ1R.

Related Articles

"It was a 'Sunday afternoon' drive for me," Hall said. "Daniel did a good job early on and handed the car over in good shape."

The Jones brothers were a comfortable second with an advantage of more than half a minute over the Rosso Verde-UCB Ferrari of Allan Simonen and Hector Lester, which had battled hard with the ABG Motorsport Viper before Aaron Scott ran into problems in the later stages and dropped down to sixth - leaving Simonsen to secure the final place on the podium.

Duncan Cameron and Matt Griffin took fourth for MTech ahead of the Barwell Aston Martin of Eddy Renard and Vincent Vosse, which hit problems with a misfire late in the race. A similar issue cost the Beechdean car of Andrew Howard and Jamie Smyth valuable time during the race as they took the flag in seventh.

GT4 honours went the way of the Rob Austin Racing Ginetta in the hands of Hunter Abbott and Gary Simms, with Abbott laying to rest the ghost of his huge accident during the opening round last season.

That win came after Ginetta chief Lawrence Tomlinson crashed the Speedworks G50 out of the lead, although Ginetta's still locked out the podium with Jody Firth and Nigel Moore in second and Ian Stinton third as he ran alone in his Stark Racing-entered machine.

The lone Supersport class car of Marcus Clutton and Phil Keen took the flag in eleventh place.