Brit GT »

Saleen victorious at Silverstone.

Ian McKellar and Thomas Erdos drove a superb race to win round three of the BRDC British GT Championship after starting from the pitlane.

The Saleen S7-R, with Ian McKellar at the wheel, was unable to start from pole position following a fuel leak as the car lined up on the grid. However, a fantastic opening stint from McKellar saw him take the lead from Rob Barff in the TVR Cerbera Speed 12 after just 10 laps before handing over to Thomas Erdos who was able to cruise to victory.

''Ian did a great job in the opening stint. We thought it was game over before the start when we found the fuel leak but I was able to back off towards the end and bring it home,'' said Erdos.

Mike Jordan and David Warnock were left to take third place after Warnock suffered a spin early in the race while battling with Barff in the TVR, dropping them out of the running. Jordan drove an awesome stint to try to take second place but finished just over a second adrift. Neil Cunningham and Peter Cook finished just outside the top three with their Porsche 911 GT2.

Martin Short and Simon Pullan cruised to an easy victory in the GTO class in their TVR Tuscan R. Calum Lockie and Jamie Davies inherited second place in the Ferrari 360 N-GT after Ben McLoughlin's TVR Tuscan R retired.

Former champion Steve O'Rourke and partner Tim Sugden rounded off the top three in their Porsche 911 GT3-R after Sugden had a moment playing catch up and needed a second pit stop to clear grass out of the radiator.

''The car as just fantastic and we were quicker than everyone else in our class today. I got slightly held up by some back markers early in the race but it feels great to be back on the top step again,'' said Pullan after the race. A delighted Short reckoned it was the slowest race he had ever driven such was the advantage he inherited from Pullan.


1. Thomas Erdos/Ian McKellar Jr Saleen S7-R 1hr 05m08.452s
2. Rob Barff/Michael Caine TVR Cerbera Speed 12 1hr 05m09.139s
3. Mike Jordan/David Warnock Lister Storm 1hr 05m10.287s
4. Neil Cunningham/Peter Cook Porsche 911 GT2 1hr 05m25.842s
5. Martin Short/Simon Pullan TVR Tuscan R 1hr 05m48.794s
6. Calum Lockie/Jamie Davies Ferrari 360 N-GT 1hr 06m09.708s

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Thomas Erdos / Ian McKellar Jnr - Graham Nash Motorsport - Saleen S7-R/7000
Oz Yusuf ISSY Racing Lotus Evora GT4
Ross Wylie Beechdean AMR Aston Martin GT4 Challenge
Ross Wylie Beechdean AMR Aston Martin GT4 Challenge
Ross Wylie Beechdean AMR Aston Martin GT4 Challenge
Ross Wylie Beechdean AMR Aston Martin GT4 Challenge
British GT TV
British GT TV
British GT TV
Lawrence Tomlinson (GBR)
Team Parker Racing
Steve Tandy Team LNT Ginetta G55 GT3
DNick Tandy Trackspeed Porsche 997 GT3
DNick Tandy Trackspeed Porsche 997 GT3
DNick Tandy Trackspeed Porsche 997 GT3
DNick Tandy Trackspeed Porsche 997 GT3
Race Start GT4 leads

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.