Buildbase eyeing podiums in 2009

Buildbase Kawasaki riders Tristan Palmer and John Laverty are targeting podiums in this year's British Superbike Championship as the team took the wraps off its 2009 contender.

The team, formerly known as Hawk Kawasaki, lose the bike's instantly recognisable green décor in favour of the red hues that are more in keeping with major new sponsor Buildbase.

Revealed during the Brands Hatch media day, both Palmer and Laverty, Superbike Cup champions in 2007 and 2008 respectively, got the chance to shakedown the ZX-10R around the Kent circuit.

After promising 2008 seasons in which Palmer scored in all but one race on the way to tenth in the standings and Laverty romped to the Cup title, both riders are expecting big things in 2009.

“Top six results from the first couple of rounds would be ideal, but we are targeting the podium”, Laverty told “I think that is achievable, it is going to be tough though because sixth could easily be tenth. If we can get around sixth place then the goal will be to get on the podium after that.”

Team principal Stuart Hicken, who ran Scott Smart on a sole Kawasaki in 2008, shares Laverty's confidence.

"We are delighted to once again be part of the Brands Hatch season launch and to be able to showcase our new livery for the first time on the Buildbase Kawasaki ZX-10R,” he said.

“We have two new riders for 2009 in John and Tristan who I believe to be great talents and I am sure we will see more from them this season. They have both been BSB Cup champions in the past and the whole team is now eager to get the season underway at the Brands Hatch opening round."

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
The 2009 Buildbase Kawasaki John Laverty and Tristan Palmer will ride in this year`s British Superbike Championship.
The 2009 Buildbase Kawasaki John Laverty and Tristan Palmer will ride in this year`s British Superbike Championship.
Andy Reid, Tyco BMW, [Credit: TAS Racing]
Jake Dixon, RAF Reserves Kawasaki [Credit: MSV BSB Media]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.