Easton focusing attentions on race

Although disappointed to miss out on a maiden British Superbike pole position, Stuart Easton is now turning his attentions to a race win challenge instead at Oulton Park.

Many, including eventual pole sitter Leon Camier, had expected the Hydrex Honda rider to be the one celebrating a first top spot at BSB level when he broke the 1min 36secs barrier, only for the Airwaves Yamaha man to snatch it from him in the dying moments of the session.

Nonetheless, second goes one better than where Easton started at the Brands Hatch season opener and with 'no prizes for pole', the Scot is merely content with the front row.

“I am happy enough - the front row is always the aim” he told Radio. “If you string a good lap together here, you can get a surprising lap time. You can try really hard and not get a good time, but it is important to remain smooth.

“It is a bit disappointing to be on pole position almost right to the end, but that can always be the way. There are no prizes for pole, so the front row will do us.

Having displayed his ability off the start line in both races at Brands Hatch, Easton is hopeful he can make a sustained challenge for victory this time around, provided it stays dry.

“The forecast is very wet, so we'll try and get two good finishes. If it is dry then I will be even happier, so hopefully we can get two podiums and maybe even a first win.”

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Stuart Easton - Hydrex Honda [pic credit: Clive Challinor]
Stuart Easton - Hydrex Honda [pic credit: Clive Challinor]
Andy Reid, Tyco BMW, [Credit: TAS Racing]
Jake Dixon, RAF Reserves Kawasaki [Credit: MSV BSB Media]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.