Hill fastest on BSB return

Tommy Hill marked his return to the British Superbike Championship in style by claiming the fastest time in opening free practice for round seven at Mallory Park.

Hill makes his debut for the Suzuki Worx Crescent team this weekend having been called upon to the replace Michael Rutter, the former BSB race winner going on to impress by taking charge throughout the 50-minute session.

Capitalising on having completed a few laps of the Leicestershire circuit last week when he was announced as Suzuki's new rider, Hill's margin stood at more than half a second for much of the time before Leon Camier managed to reduce it to three tenths in the latter stages.

The championship leader found himself in the lower reaches of the top ten for the majority of the session before working his way back up to second, just ahead of third place Karl Harris on the Hydrex Honda.

Beyond Hill, there was also a very notable performance from Steve Brogan, who marked his debut on the HM Plant Honda Superbike by claiming a superb fourth fastest lap, six positions and four tenths faster than more experienced team-mate Josh Brookes.

In fifth position, Simon Andrews was forced to leave it late to make his move having only been able to complete five laps, the Kawasaki rider finishing ahead of Chris Walker, James Ellison, John Laverty and Brookes.

Elsewhere, the Cup class had a surprising front runner in the form of Superstock rider Richard Cooper, who is entering the Superbike class this weekend on the Co-ordit Yamaha. Holding down a top ten position for much of the session, he would eventually end up 11th, three tenths up on second place Gary Mason.

Further back, Michael Rutter had an inauspicious debut for SMT Honda down in 25th, almost four seconds off the pace.

Tagged as: Honda , Yamaha , Suzuki , Camier , Hill , Harris , Mallory Park , Brogan

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Hill, Monza WSBK 2009
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki, BSB [Credit: MSV Media]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki, BSB [Credit: MSV Media]
Sylvain Guintoli, Suzuki, Sepang [Credit: Peter McLaren]
Sylvain Guintoli, Suzuki, Sepang [Credit: Peter McLaren]
Sylvain Guintoli, Suzuki, Sepang [Credit: Peter McLaren]
Sylvain Guintoli, Suzuki, Sepang [Credit: Peter McLaren]
Rob Winfield, Anvil Hire Yamaha, BSB [Credit: Bonnie Lane]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, BSB [Credit: Anvil Hire Yamaha]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: MSV Media]
Hawk Racing Suzuki, BSB [Credit: BSB media]
Howie Mainwaring Smart, Anvil Hire Yamaha []
Broc Parkes, ePayMe Yamaha, [Credit:]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit:]
Broc Parkes, ePayMe Yamaha, [Credit:]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit:]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit:]
Tommy Bridewell, Bennetts Suzuki, [Credit:]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.