Hill quickesta again at Mallory

Tommy Hill continued to maintain his place at the top of the timesheets following the second free practice session of the day at Mallory Park.

Having made headlines with his debut on the Suzuki Worx Crescent GSX-R1000 in FP1, Hill was once again the man to beat in the afternoon after slicing two tenths off his best time.

Maintaining an impressive three tenth gap around the sub one-minute circuit, Hill held off Karl Harris from the top spot, the Hydrex Honda rider confirming his good pace from the morning in second place.

James Ellison flew the flag for Airwaves Yamaha in third position, although team-mate Leon Camier didn't fare as well after technical difficulties forced him to miss the session entirely.

As such, Chris Walker and John Laverty completed a slightly unusual top five on their respective Henderson/Motorspoint Yamaha and Buildbase Kawasaki machines.

Josh Brookes regained HM Plant Honda superiority again in sixth position, although debutant Steve Brogan was just hundredths behind in seventh place. Despite completing just eleven laps, Julien Da Costa was MSS Colchester Kawasaki's top rider in eighth, ahead of Stuart Easton and Graeme Gowland.

Elsewhere, Michael Rutter made significant progress – three seconds to be precise – between the sessions on the SMT Honda to end the day 11th fastest, while Tommy Bridewell emerged quickest of the Cup competitors in 13th overall ahead of Richard Cooper and Gary Mason.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Hill, Qatar WSBK 2009
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.