Camier leads Airwaves 1-2 at Silverstone

Leon Camier will start from his ninth MCE British Superbike Championship pole position of the season at Silverstone after fending off James Ellison in the qualifying shootout.

Camier, who can wrap up the title with one round remaining this weekend, had looked confident for pole position having broken the lap record during final free practice.

However, while he was equally as fast when qualifying came around, Ellison went with him, getting to within less than a tenth of his team-mate in what is arguably his most convincing qualifying performance of the season.

A 1-2 for newly crowned champions Airwaves Yamaha, Josh Brookes did his best to get amongst the pole fight, but had to settle for third, more than half a second behind Camier.

Nonetheless, it was enough for him to emerge as the leading Honda rider, ahead of Hydrex duo Stuart Easton and Tommy Hill, the latter rider – in only his second event for the team – getting close to his race winning team-mate.

Three Kawasaki riders made it into the top ten, with John Laverty their highest placed representative in sixth position, ahead of Simon Andrews in seventh and Julian Da Costa in ninth. Sylvain Guintoli and Ian Lowry flew the flag for Suzuki in eighth and tenth respectively.

Outside the top ten, Glen Richards missed out on reaching the shootout on his return from injury in 12th position, while Chris Walker will start just behind in 13th place after falling on his final flying lap.

Just behind, Richard Cooper will start 14th overall as the best Cup rider, while Alastair Seeley will make his first BSB start on the 'Evo' specification Relentless Suzuki in a solid 16th.

Fellow debutant Dan Linfoot qualified 23rd, marginally adrift of returnees Michael Rutter in 21st and Karl Harris in 22nd.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Leon Camier on his way to British Superbike Championship victory for Airwaves Yamaha at Cadwell Park in 2009 [pic credit: Ian Hopgood Photography]
Leon Camier - Airwaves Yamaha [pic credit: Clive Challinor]
Leon Camier, James Ellison, Stuart Easton
Leon Camier - Airwaves Yamaha R1 [pic credit: Clive Challinor]
Leon Camier - Airwaves Yamaha R1 [pic credit: Clive Challinor]
Jack Kennedy and Taylor Mackenzie will ride for Team WD-40 in the British Superbike Championship
James Ellison - JG Speedfit Kawasaki
James Ellison - JG Speedfit Kawasaki
Tommy Hill, Chris Walker, Danny Buchan
Chris Walker Lloyds British GBmoto Kawasaki -
James Ellison Lloyds British GBmoto Kawasaki -
Josh Brookes Milwaukee Yamaha -
Josh Brookes Milwaukee Yamaha -
James Ellison Lloyds British GBmoto Kawasaki -
James Ellison Lloyds British GBmoto Kawasaki -
Jakub Smrz Moto Rapido Lloyds British -
Josh Waters on the Tyco Suzuki at Silverstone
Quattro Plant Kawasaki`s Dan Linfoot at Silverstone

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.