Harris quickest in Oulton opener

Karl Harris was the surprise pace setter during opening practice for the British Superbike season finale at Oulton Park, the ex-Hydrex Honda rider setting a rapid pace to beat Leon Camier.

Embarking on his second event with the SMT Honda team, Harris – who scored a double podium for Hydrex earlier in the season – was again on fine form around the Cheshire circuit, topping the timesheets from the start before proceeding to get faster.

At one stage seven tenths quicker than anyone else, although Camier recovered to dip into the 1min 36s, Harris' late effort would simply slice a further three tenths off the new champion's best time.

Still, Camier has reason to be pleased after putting almost a second between himself and third place rider Tommy Hill – Harris' replacement -, and a further three tenths up on fourth place Julien Da Costa.

Stuart Easton got his difficult quest to relieve James Ellison of second in the standings off to a positive start with the fifth best time, compared to his rival's seventh, the pair being split by Cup champion Gary Mason.

Ian Lowry was eighth quickest to be the best of the new-look Relentless Suzuki line-up, his team-mate Alastair Seeley ending up in 13th position as he acquaints himself with a full Superbike GSX-R1000.

Glen Richards and Simon Andrews completed the top ten, with Sylvain Guintoli and Ducati's Michael Rutter just outside.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Karl Harris - SMT Honda [pic credit: Turn One Photography]
Christian Iddon - Halsall Suzuki
Josh Waters - Halsall Suzuki
Halsall Racing to run BSB Suzuki effort
Tommy Hill, Chris Walker, Danny Buchan
Honda confirms BSB return with Linfoot, O’Halloran
Honda UK announces Linfoot, O`Halloran for BSB 2015
Peter Hickman RAF Reserves Honda -
Josh Waters Tyco Suzuki -
Josh Waters Tyco Suzuki -
Josh Waters Tyco Suzuki -
John Hopkins Tyco Suzuki -
Julien Da Costa Honda Racing -
John Hopkins Tyco Suzuki -
Josh Waters on the Tyco Suzuki at Silverstone
Peter Hickman RAF Reserves Honda -
Peter Hickman RAF Reserves Honda -
Julien Da Costa Honda Racing -

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.