GSE celebrate record-breaking season

Colin Wright has labelled GSE Racing's fifth title-winning British Superbike season as 'one of the best ever' after cementing a 1-2 in the overall standings with another two race wins.

While Leon Camier wrapped up the title four races early at Silverstone, James Ellison could still be mathematically overhauled for the runners-up position by Stuart Easton. Nonetheless, a third place finish in the second race of the weekend at Oulton Park was enough to maintain his place.

In all, Airwaves Yamaha failed to win just three this season, with Camier bringing his record-breaking total up to 19, while Ellison – who scored in every race this season - comes away with four himself.

Achieved in the team's first season with the Yamaha R1 following a switch from Ducati, Wright hailed the GSE package, which also included nine pole positions and 23 fastest laps.

"This season we have not only exceeded everyone's expectations, we have yet again broken records! Leon and James are the only two riders to have finished every race in the points (barring Leon's exclusion at Cadwell).

“We have enjoyed numerous double race wins and double one two's and I believe Leon's points tally (549.5) is the most any rider has gained in a race season. We have also, with the help of Pirelli, come close to breaking lap records.

“The Airwaves Yamaha YZF-R1 and the team have performed outstandingly and I'm so grateful to all those who have made this season one of our best ever. I said it would be!"

GSE Racing are currently in the process of searching for a new title sponsor following the confirmation that Airwaves has pulled its backing for 2010.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Leon Camier - Airwaves Yamaha [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.