Who else could it be? Leon Camier has been voted your BSB Rider of the Year for 2009.

The young Briton may have carried the #2 on his Airwaves Yamaha, but he was rarely second best this season.

The 23-year-old won a record 19 of the 26 races and claimed 22 podiums for Airwaves Yamaha on his way to an end-of-season advantage of 136.5 points over team-mate James Ellison.

A further victory was taken from him, after comfortably winning on track, due to smoke emitting from his bike at Cadwell Park. That DSQ marked his only non-score of the season, which was his third in BSB and second with GSE Racing.

Camier's BSB achievements also caught the attention of Aprilia, for whom he will be a factory rider in the 2010 World Superbike Championship - having impressed during several solid rides as a wild-card at the tail-end of this season.

On average, you awarded Camier 9 out of 10 for his 2009 season, compared with 8 out of 10 for next best Stuart Easton. Camier was only sixth in last year's poll.


Team: Airwaves Yamaha Bike: Yamaha YZF R1

Championship position: 1st Points: 549.5

Race starts: 26 Pole positions: 9 Victories: 19 Podiums: 22 Best results: 1st Points finishes: 25

Top 10 BSB Rider of the Year 2008: 6th

Top 10 BSB Rider of the Year 2009

2 - Stuart Easton 3 - James Ellison 4 - Simon Andrews 5 - Gary Mason 6 - Tommy Bridewell 7 - Tommy Hill 8 - Sylvain Guintoli 9 - Ian Lowry 10 - John Laverty