MSS Colchester to receive WSBK technology

MSS Colchester Kawasaki will have a World Superbike-developed electronics package when it lines up on the British Superbike grid this season
The MSS Colchester Kawasaki team is making bold preparations for a 2010 British Superbike title tilt after securing a 'state of the art' electronics package from its sister World Superbike team.

Having made a breakthrough in performance last season, MSS Colchester has acquired Magneti Marelli electronics as used by the factory-backed Paul Bird Motorsport team in the world championship in a bid to maintain its ascension.

Developed over the course of the 2009 season by PBM engineers Phil Borley and Stuart Bland, the 'Marvel' system handles all on-board electronics to tackle both data collection and system management, with a myriad of datalogging and fine tuning options available.

Taken from the bike Broc Parkes rode to three second place finishes during a BSB wild-card outing at Brands Hatch last year, team manager Nick Morgan is hopeful this will help bridge the gap to some of the bigger, better-funded outfits.

“From a technical point of view we're so excited to be using the latest spec World Superbike electronics and as motivation we know we now have the best kit available, so there's no excuses!

“I can't thank Birdy [Paul Bird] and his team enough for giving us such amazing hardware, especially as they have put in huge development time over the course of the year. The kit is straight off Broc Parkes machine which he used so effectively at Brands Hatch, so we know it works well there and that's where we race!”

Simon Andrews and Gary Mason will ride for MSS Colchester Kawasaki in 2010.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Gary Mason joins Simon Andrews at MSS Colchester Kawasaki
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

FazerMonkey - Unregistered

January 07, 2010 1:03 PM

Wish them all the best, especially Simon Andrews, he really is an up and coming talent and deserves a great year in 2010 then onto a full factory machine. MSS will certainly make this championship way more interesting this year, especillay with the loss of GSE.

rocketrs - Unregistered

January 07, 2010 4:33 PM

Lets just hope the new electronics have a system for informing riders when a certain clown on an HM plant honda is about to nerf them from behind On a serrious note good look to simon he deserves a win this year

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.