Gary Johnson joins AIM Racing

Gary Johnson signs to compete in the BSB Evo class with AIM Racing in 2010
AIM Racing has announced the signing of Gary Johnson to compete in the new BSB Evo class for the 2010 season.

Johnson will form part of a double championship assault for the Suzuki team, which will also run Dennis Hobbs in the National Superstock 1000 Championship.

For Hobbs, the 2010 season will see a return to action after injury curtailed his 2009 campaign while Johnson will dovetail his track racing with road racing outings during the year ahead.

"It is a great opportunity for me to race in the new Evo class and combine it with my three road race events,” Johnson said. “It is definitely exciting and I am going to attack it from the start and be completely open-minded on what to expect. As it is a new class it should be pretty equal so I know that the competition will be stiff. It is a completely new venture with the Evo class and things are shaping up well so we won't be able to judge the competition until we are on track.

"For me I want to get good results for the team in the first year of the Evo class but it is also a great chance for me to get the track time and develop the bike. In terms of BSB we all have our fingers crossed for a good season and I think we have as good a chance as anyone to go out there and have a good shot at the first Evo title."

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Stuart Easton leads at the start of the 2009 BSB season [pic credit: Clive Challinor]
Andy Reid, Tyco BMW, [Credit: TAS Racing]
Jake Dixon, RAF Reserves Kawasaki [Credit: MSV BSB Media]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


January 20, 2010 2:28 PM

Good luck to all at BSB and MSVR who have had the foresight and bottle to introduce the new Evo class, I hope you get plenty of interest and close racing, which will pave the way for the rules to become the Full BSB class in 2011.. Are you watching this space, Flamini and Infront?

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.