MotorSport Vison has announced the following rule changes for the 2010 British Superbike season...

"The MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, promoted by MotorSport Vision, is the most successful motor sport championship in the UK, attracting bigger crowds and TV audiences than any other national series. During 2009, 368,000 people attended BSB events across the country and 8,000,000 fans watched 310 hours of television on the live Eurosport and delayed ITV coverage.

"For 2010 MSV is now going to increase the appeal of BSB even more with some exciting rule changes designed to keep fans captivated right to the very end of the championship with a dramatic title battle finale.

"The new regulations have been arrived at after careful consultation by MSV with both the BSB manufacturers and teams to gather all key opinions and were then submitted to the governing body, MCRCB, for approval.

Crescendo of Competition

"The central concept of the new rule is that there should be a crescendo of competition towards the end of the championship to minimise the chances of anyone securing the title before the final event of the year. It was also critical that the method of achieving this should be absolutely fair to all competitors and simple to understand.

"A new format and points scoring system will virtually guarantee that the title will go down to the wire and create a new, thrilling spectacle for television and trackside audiences.

First the Main Season, then The Showdown!

"The championship will be divided into two parts. The first nine events form the Main Season, with the standard points scoring format of 25 for a win, then 20, 16, 13, 11, 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 awarded for each of the nineteen races from the nine events.

"From their total points at the end of the Main Season, all riders then drop their two worst scores, which must be from events they have at least qualified for.

"From this points order, the first six riders in the championship standings will be elevated to a new base level and become the Title Fighters for the final three events and seven races of the championship.

"Each Title Fighter will start The Showdown with 500 points, plus additional points for each podium position they have obtained in the Main Season; 3 for a win, 2 for a second, and 1 for a third. These are termed Podium Credits. For example, a rider placed in the top six of the standings at the end of the Main Season who scored three wins, two seconds and a third would start The Showdown phase with 514 points.

"The standard points scoring format from the Main Season then continues for The Showdown, with all points scores from the final seven races counting.

"All riders outside of the Title Fighters continue to race for the BSB Riders' Cup, continuing to add to their points total from the end of the Main Season. This also applies to the new BSB EVO class.

Race Date Circuit

1 / 2 3-5 April Brands Hatch Indy
3 / 4 16-18 April Thruxton
5 / 6 1-3 May Oulton Park
7 / 8 21-23 May Cadwell Park
9 / 10 25-27 June Mallory Park
11 / 12 2-4 July Knockhill
13 / 14 16-18 July Snetterton
15 / 16 / 17 6-8 August Brands Hatch GP
18 / 19 28-30 August Cadwell Park
Race Date Circuit

1 / 2 10-12 September Croft
3 / 4 24-26 September Silverstone Arena GP
5 / 6 / 7 8-10 October Oulton Park

Qualifying shake up

"BSB qualifying takes on a new look too. The popular, Formula 1 "knockout" style Swan Combi Roll for Pole remains, but this now just sets the grid for BSB Race 1. All riders first take to the track for Q1 over 20 minutes. The field is then whittled down to 20 riders in Q2 over 12 minutes, and then the final 8 minutes shoot-out for pole position by the top 10 riders in Q3.

Best lap times in Race 1 set the grid for Race 2

"The Race 2 grid will now be established by the order of the riders best lap times set during Race 1. This will give a greater reward to riders making a charge through the field, perhaps as a result of a bad qualifying performance or a bad start. Significantly all the riders will be on race rubber, rather than softer tyres that favour certain qualifying specialists.

Second chance

"The new qualifying regulations are sensitive to riders who unfortunately suffer a crash or mechanical failure before the end of the first lap in Race 1. Their bad fortune is not compounded further as the rider can line up for Race 2 in their Race 1 starting grid position plus 8 "penalty places", emphasising the necessity for a good initial qualifying position. As an example if the rider in pole position for Race 1 crashed on the first lap and was unable to continue, he would start Race 2 from position 9 on the third row of the grid.

BSB Triple Headers

"At a three race BSB meeting the procedure follows on to the best lap times set in Race 2 establishing the grid for Race 3. Similarly those riders who don't complete a single lap in Race 2 get to start Race 3 in their Race 2 starting position plus 8 "penalty places."

BSB's never over

"BSB race weekends now take on exciting, additional elements that will create new talking points and test the tactical skills of the riders and the teams. Drama is assured from the first qualifying session at the first event until the chequered flag falls on the final lap of the final round."