Lowry excited by Spanish Moto2

Ian Lowry moves to the Spanish Moto2 Championship with newly formed team JMW FOGI
Ian Lowry admits he is excited about his move to the CEV Buckler Spanish Moto2 Championship for the 2010 season.

Lowry, who finished as highest-placed rookie in British Superbikes last year, will ride an FTR Moto machine for the newly formed JMW FOGI Team – formed by former GP rider Jeremy McWilliams and Canadian businessman Angus Borland.

The Spanish series will run over seven rounds and starts this weekend at Catalunya.

“I'm really excited about this new adventure and moving into Moto2,” Lowry said. “I think the opening Grand Prix in Qatar proved how exciting this form of racing is and how accessible and cost effective it can be.”

The JMW FOGI Team is the third outfit in the series to choose FTR Moto2 machinery and Lowry will be joined by FTR-mounted Scot Kev Coghlan and Russian Alexey Ivanov during the season ahead.

“I'm pleased that we have three separate teams believing in us in the 2010 Spanish Championship,” FTR director Steve Bones said. “After Alex Debon's runner-up finish in Qatar on Sunday night we've had enquiries from a lot of teams interested in our World Championship, Spanish Championship and trackday machines.

“This Sunday is the opening CEV race in Spain so the season feels like it's really getting into full swing now and there's nothing quite like the buzz of a race to get teams and riders motivated.”

Lowry could yet have an involvement with the Motorpoint Yamaha team in BSB this season having been asked to stand in for the injured Neil Hodgson during testing at Oulton Park.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Ian Lowry - Relentless Suzuki by TAS [pic credit: Cliver Challinor]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.