Laverty celebrates first BSB win

Michael Laverty and Relentless Suzuki claimed their first BSB victory in emphatic fashion during race two at Oulton Park on Monday.

Laverty exploited the changeable conditions perfectly to blast to a six-second victory margin over nearest rival Michael Rutter, during what he later claimed had been one of his easiest race wins!

“It's really strange because it's probably the easiest I've had to ride to win a race, never mind so convincingly,” he smiled. “It's not often you get the perfect bike, but the boys gave me one today for that win.

“We still have a bit to go with the dry set-up, but we are getting closer every weekend and I'm confident we can be up at the front in the dry very soon - possibly as soon as Cadwell Park. The boys deserve this bit of success for all their hard work."

Team principal Philip Neill admitted it had been an emotional day.

"After all the hard work our team has put in, that was a pretty emotional day for me and I have to say, Michael's win was probably one of the best rides I've ever seen - he really destroyed the field and was even comfortable putting in consistent quickest laps,” he said.

“It's a great reward and a boost of confidence for the whole team. I must obviously give credit to Michael, who I have always believed in, and this will be a real confidence booster for him.”

Laverty had finished fifth in race one, just behind team-mate Alastair Seeley, as the pair finished in the middle of a thrilling four-way fight for the final podium position.

Seeley then claimed sixth in race two and the pair now hold fourth (Laverty) and fifth (Seeley) places in the championship standings, after three rounds.

"We really do have two genuine contenders this year, who are as good as anyone in the championship,” said Neill.

Tagged as: Cadwell Park , Oulton Park

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Michel Laverty - Relentless by TAS Suzuki
Michael Laverty celebrates a maiden victory for both himself and Relentless by TAS Suzuki in the 2010 MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship at Oulton Park [pic credit: Jack Bateson]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.