Easton up to second in BSB standings

Monday at Oulton Park was a day of highs and lows for Stuart Easton, who took a tense victory over title leader Tommy Hill in race one, before failing to finish race two.

The Swan Honda rider took his first win of the year by just 0.058sec in race one, after holding off Hill for most of the race.

“In the first race we had edged out a lead and there was nothing really between us, so I just kept fighting and was able to hold on for the win,” said Easton. “It was a great feeling to win the first race as it was my first one of the season and I was feeling really fired up to do the same in the second.”

But Easton's hopes of a repeat were dashed by the changeable race two weather. Easton struggled in the opening laps and, wrongly believing he had an issue with his rear tyre, pitted before rejoining the race.

The problem reoccurred when Easton went back out on track and he was forced to retire.

“I thought that I had a problem with the rear tyre so I came in to the garage but we later found out it was just a setting that didn't work out with the electronics,” Easton revealed.

“It was disappointing as it had worked unbelievably in the first race, but we really went into the second one blind as we had only had a handful of laps to practice in the wet.

“We have moved up to second in the standings now though after the win so we have come away in a better position overall so now we are looking forward to Cadwell Park.”

Easton was the only Swan Honda rider at Oulton, with team-mate James Ellison injured.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Stuart Easton - Swan Honda [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Stuart Easton - Swan Honda [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Stuart Easton - Swan Honda [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.