Hill fastest as Mallory event opens

The championship leader sets the early pace at Mallory Park as the top ten is covered by just over half a second.
British Superbike Championship leader Tommy Hill marked his first anniversary with Worx Crescent Suzuki in style as he dominated first free practice at Mallory Park.

The former WSBK rider made his debut with the team at Mallory Park twelve months ago and, just as he did on that occasion, he set the early pace in FP1.

Hitting the front early on, Hill would complete the session with a best of 56.534secs, just over a tenth faster than Suzuki counterpart Michael Laverty, who in turn was followed by his brother John on the Buildbase Kawasaki.

Japanese pairing Ryuichi Kiyonari and Yukio Kagayama – who returns to action this weekend after two events out with injury – followed in fourth and fifth, ahead of local favourite Michael Rutter, the veteran back on the Ducati after a Superstock outing at Silverstone riding a BMW.

Tommy Bridewell was seventh best on the Quay Garage Honda, faster than HM Plant man Josh Brookes and Swan Honda's Stuart Easton, although the Scot did miss the last twenty minutes of the session with a technical issue.

Dan Linfoot rounded out the top ten, while his new Motorpoint Yamaha team-mate Andrew Pitt made a solid debut on the R1 in 13th place.

Elsewhere, Karl Harris was a fine 11th on his comeback to BSB aboard a 2008-specification Yamaha, while injury returnees Simon Andrews and James Ellison were 19th and 24th best respectively.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Tommy Hill - Worx Crescent Suzuki [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Hill - Worx Crescent Suzuki [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Hill - Worx Crescent Suzuki [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Hill - Worx Crescent Suzuki [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.