Five go forward for title fight, one spot remains

Who will win the 2010 British Superbike title? Kiyonari, Hill, Brookes, Rutter or Michael Laverty? Place bets now...
The 2010 British Superbike title will be won by either Ryuichi Kiyonari, Tommy Hill, Josh Brookes, Michael Rutter, Michael Laverty and one of three others following the eight round of the season at Brands Hatch.

With just one round remaining before the top six riders see their points equalised ahead of a three-event showdown, five of the sextet booked their place with solid performances at Brands Hatch.

Other than Kiyonari, who won the title in 2006 and 2007, this would potentially be a first BSB title for any of the other riders.

Meanwhile, with two races to go, there remains one spot available, with Alastair Seeley, John Laverty or Stuart Easton mathematically able to snatch it.

Currently, Seeley is best placed after winning his first BSB race at Brands Hatch, even if his two ensuing retirements did prevent him from cementing his advantage over his rivals, the Relentless Suzuki rider currently ten points up on Laverty.

Indeed, Laverty failed to capitalise with two modest runs to ninth place, while the Buildbase Kawasaki rider's consistency this year means he will potentially lose points when the two dropped scores are taken into account after Cadwell Park. Currently, Seeley would lose no points, while Laverty would be forced to drop four points.

Easton, meanwhile, is still in the hunt, but is 36 points adrift with just 50 available from the Cadwell Park weekend.

Of the five that are already guaranteed to go through, Kiyonari would start with the advantage in terms of podium credits having notched 23 extra points. Hill is on 20, Brookes 19, Rutter ten and Laverty nine.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Josh Brookes - HM Plant Honda [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Josh Brookes, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, Shane Byrne, Dan Linfoot [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
BSB, race start, Brands Hatch, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
BSB race action, Brands Hatch [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
John Hopkins, British Moto Rapido [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Christian Iddon, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

DT - Unregistered

August 10, 2010 2:14 PM

What a crazy format. I have stopped following this year because of the points system and other crazy rules. I do read the odd story because im interested in the riders and championship and i might catch the odd race - but im not following such a stupid system! Good luck everyone - including the people who stay to work out the results!

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.