Donington Park returns on 2011 BSB calendar

Donington Park replaces Mallory Park on the 2011 British Superbike Championship schedule, it is confirmed.
MSV has announced the 2011 British Superbike Championship calendar, with Donington Park making its return to the series after a year's absence.

The Leicestershire circuit was left off the 2010 schedule after hitting financial problems in the wake of its failed attempt to secure the Formula 1 British Grand Prix, but is now ready to host high-profile events once more.

It will be joined on the calendar by the newly configured Snetterton, which will have been reconfigured and expanded to almost three miles when the BSB series visits in July.

The season itself will start on April 22-25, once again at Brands Hatch, while the Kent circuit will also host the series finale once more following two years at Oulton Park.

One circuit missing from the 12 round schedule, however, is Mallory Park.

The 2011 MCE British Superbike Championship calendar:

April 22-25: Brands Hatch
April 30 – May 2: Oulton Park
May 13 – 15: Croft
May 28-30: Thruxton
June 17-19: Knockhill
July 1-3: Snetterton 300
July 15-17: Oulton Park
August 5-7: Brands Hatch GP
August 27-29: Cadwell Park
September 9-11: Donington Park
September 23-15: Silverstone
October 7-9: Brands Hatch

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Michael Rutter - Ducati [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Jake Dixon, RAF Reserves Kawasaki [Credit: MSV BSB Media]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

Zeb n Lyn - Unregistered

December 12, 2010 1:04 PM

We will be sorry to see Mallory go from the schedule, not just because it is our local circuit but in our opinion it is one of the best organised events of the schedule. For such a small circuit they always manage to get people in and out easily and the action is always close. Too close sometimes I suppose that is the reason for dropping it.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.