Earlier this year, Crash.net opened up the floor and asked you as fans whether you believed the radical changes to the British Superbike regulations would be a success.

You overwhelmingly voted 'no', with 80 per cent saying the changes - most notably the decision to create a three-round shootout - would not improve the show.

Well, several months down the line we have a new British Superbike Champion in Ryuichi Kiyonari, who leapt from third to first at the final event at Oulton Park to win his third crown ahead of Josh Brookes and Tommy Hill.

Attracting a record Oulton Park crowd and keeping the title fight very much open until the final race, the changes certainly served to keep the show interesting to the wire.

Indeed, Jonathan Palmer has labelled it as a big success, so having now seen the format in practice, we would like to throw open the question to you again to see if you have warmed to the changes.

To submit your vote, simply, CLICK HERE

For reference, Crash.net has been tapping away at the calculators to determine how much the order would change had the original system been in place. The differences - which also exclude podium credits - aren't significant as Kiyonari's three wins at Oulton Park would have always seen him finish a comfortable margin up on Brookes and Hill in that order...

Final 2010 Championship positions under original format:

1. Ryuichi Kiyonari - 405 points
2. Josh Brookes - 385
3. Tommy Hill - 382
4. Michael Laverty - 327
5. Michael Rutter - 288
6. James Ellison - 210
7. Alastair Seeley - 205 Remaining classification unchanged


Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register to add your comment