POLL: Did you like the new BSB rule changes?

Having asked you before the season what you thought of the British Superbike rule changes, we are asking you again now that the inaugural shootout has taken place...
Earlier this year, opened up the floor and asked you as fans whether you believed the radical changes to the British Superbike regulations would be a success.

You overwhelmingly voted 'no', with 80 per cent saying the changes – most notably the decision to create a three-round shootout – would not improve the show.

Well, several months down the line we have a new British Superbike Champion in Ryuichi Kiyonari, who leapt from third to first at the final event at Oulton Park to win his third crown ahead of Josh Brookes and Tommy Hill.

Attracting a record Oulton Park crowd and keeping the title fight very much open until the final race, the changes certainly served to keep the show interesting to the wire.

Indeed, Jonathan Palmer has labelled it as a big success, so having now seen the format in practice, we would like to throw open the question to you again to see if you have warmed to the changes.

To submit your vote, simply, CLICK HERE

For reference, has been tapping away at the calculators to determine how much the order would change had the original system been in place. The differences – which also exclude podium credits - aren't significant as Kiyonari's three wins at Oulton Park would have always seen him finish a comfortable margin up on Brookes and Hill in that order…

Final 2010 Championship positions under original format:

1. Ryuichi Kiyonari – 405 points
2. Josh Brookes – 385
3. Tommy Hill – 382
4. Michael Laverty – 327
5. Michael Rutter – 288
6. James Ellison – 210
7. Alastair Seeley – 205
Remaining classification unchanged

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
The start of the second round at Thruxton [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

chemboy - Unregistered

October 13, 2010 11:35 AM

In my view, there was no need to make the rule changes in order to generate an "exciting" conclusion to the championship. The consistently fast people will be consistently fast up to seasons end - this is what we have seen here. I think it is better to go back to the more conventional format of just collecting points. If a rider is good enough, and the team prepares a good enough bike and therefore that combo runs away with the championship, they deserve it - more fool the other teams and riders who are lesser prepared. The 2010 format was also unfair on the riders who may have progressed in their championship position under the conventional format, however unless a rider was in the top 6 shootout, he would have no chance of making up places if he had a particularly flourishing end to the season. back to how it was for 2011 onwards please. Rule changes serve to confuse matters - retain a standard format for at least 5 seasons and then reveiw the expenses and the entertainment provi

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.