Michael Laverty brought his 2010 season to a satisfying conclusion as he swept to three Superbike victories at the annual Sunflower Trophy Races in Northern Ireland.

Laverty, who finished fourth for Relentless by TAS Suzuki in the British Superbike Championship this season, was the rider to beat at throughout the event at Bishopscourt as he set a consistent record-breaking pace.

Come race day and Laverty dominated throughout, claiming three victories to bring his record-tally of Sunflower race wins across the classes to 18.

Related Articles

"That was the perfect way to cap off what has been a successful and enjoyable season," he said. "It was quite a dominant weekend for us as we lead every practice session and every lap in all three Superbike races. My Relentless by TAS Suzuki was working perfectly and never missed a beat.

"I was almost a little over confident and when Ian [Lowry] upped his pace during the main event, I was caught off guard and had to respond. I wasn't at my limit and had plenty in reserve, so I managed to pull a small gap and won the Sunflower Trophy for the sixth time.

"It was an enjoyable day and I'd like to thank the whole team for a big effort and all our sponsors for making it happen."

Ian Lowry finished second aboard the WSBK-spec Kawasaki, while Marshall Neill, John Laverty and Alastair Seeley made up the top five in the final race.