Vote for the best WSBK rider of 2010!

The first British Superbike Championship season to feature the 'Showdown' format served its purpose as the title battle went right the way down to the wire - but who impressed you most over the course of the campaign..?
This year's MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship was the first in the series' history to feature the new, NASCAR-inspired 'Showdown' format, in an effort to avoid the kind of utter dominance that had seen Leon Camier emerge victorious with four races still left to run in 2009 – but who was your star of the 2010 season?

It was certainly a lot closer this year as a result of the revised scoring system, with the top six riders after Cadwell Park – Josh Brookes, Tommy Hill, Ryuichi Kiyonari, Michael Laverty, Michael Rutter and Alastair Seeley – progressing on to the inaugural Showdown.

The title had looked to be heading Hill's way for much of the year, but a do-or-die move that ended in disaster in the Oulton Park finale cost him dearly when the scores were totted up, and an inability to play the percentage game was the Worx Crescent Suzuki star's unfortunate undoing.

That allowed the ever-present Kiyonari – always one capable of springing a surprise just when it is least expected – to swoop in and blitz proceedings with a trio of peerless triumphs to pinch the laurels away from underneath Hill's nose and take his career tally of BSB riders' crowns to three.

Kiyo's HM Plant Honda team-mate Brookes was there or thereabouts season-long but just seemed to lack the consistency of the Japanese ace, whilst Laverty showed what he was really made of in 2010, by racking up his breakthrough victory at Oulton Park and then adding to it with a second success at Croft just over four months later.

The ever-dependable Rutter demonstrated the benefit of his wealth of experience to stay in the hunt as the championship's dark horse right the way to the end, and the last of the six Showdown protagonists – Relentless Suzuki's Alastair Seeley – was fast-but-wild as he continued his learning curve.

Outside of the top half-dozen, a rider who inarguably should have been in there – having come out of the starting blocks flying back at the beginning of the campaign – was James Ellison, whose broken femur in the second meeting at Thruxton scuppered his title bid and left him facing a long road to full recovery. That the Lancastrian still beat Swan Honda team-mate Stuart Easton – whose season went downhill as the Scot seemed to lose confidence – speaks volumes.

Mention should also go, finally, to John Laverty, who was a magnet for bad luck in 2010 but nonetheless finished a laudable eighth in the points table and comfortably top Kawasaki entrant.

Whatever your views, make sure to share them right here, both by clicking on the link below and also in our comments forum.

Simply rate each of the 18 riders we have listed with a score from one (poor) to ten (excellent) dependent upon how impressed you were with their performance this year – and before Christmas, we will publish a list of your top ten.

To cast your votes, click here

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
The start of the second round at Thruxton [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Michael Rutter - Ducati [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Hill, Mason, Ellison, Laverty [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes - HM Plant Honda [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Ryuichi Kiyonari - HM Plant Honda [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Ryuichi Kiyonari - HM Plant Honda [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Stuart Easton (Swan Honda) leads Ryuichi Kiyonari (HM Plant Honda), Thruxton, 2010 [pic credit: Ian Hopgood Photography]
Ryuichi Kiyonari - HM Plant Honda [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
John Hopkins, British Moto Rapido [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Michael Laverty, McAMS Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

Bike Race Guru - Unregistered

December 11, 2010 8:31 AM

Points system was crap.. But thankfully the right guy won it in the end.. Even if it was more luck than management.. Got to agree Ellison was brilliant considering his injury.. Rutter was fantastic as well.. Neither won the title.. But spare me the Tommy Hill excuse bandwagon please.. Anybody who admits he's racing to qualify for the shootout after the 1st meeting at Oulton Park deserves everything he got at the second meeting at Oulton Park.. "Safety first" cost Hill the title and in the cold hard light od day he can only blame himself for that..

just me - Unregistered

December 10, 2010 9:34 PM

James Ellison was brilliant. Taken out and kept out for a huge chunk of the Season due to injury. But fought so hard to prove a point. On his return he just clawed his way back up the standings and even passed his Team Mate. Class....... and the best rider.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.