Snetterton reveals new corner names

Giacomo Agostini is among the famous individuals to be immortalised in having a bend at the revised Snetterton circuit named after them.
MSV has announced the corner names for the heavily revised Snetterton circuit after receiving more than 2,000 fan suggestions.

The track, which will be known as Snetterton 300 owing to its length being extended to 2.99km, had just six corners in its previous configuration, but this has now been doubled to 12, as well as the two straights (Bentley, which is the new name for the Revett straight, and Senna straight).

The first bend remains unchanged as Riches, but the second corner – formerly known as Sear – is now Montreal, a right-handed hairpin that apes a similar bend on the Gilles Villeneueve circuit in Canada and leads into the new section of the circuit.

Palmer, Agostini, Hamilton, Oggies and Williams, which mark out the section, have been named after individuals that have been closely associated with Snetterton in the past – MSV owner Jonathan Palmer, motorcycling legend Giacomo Agostini, F1 world champion Lewis Hamilton, MSV co-founder Sir Peter Ogden and multiple F1 title-winning team owner Frank Williams.

Joining the Bentley straight – a nod to the manufacturer that used Snetterton to develop its 2002 Le Mans 24hr winning Speed 8 – and coming under the bridge, the Esses is now named (Martin) Brundle and (Norfolk Admiral) Nelson, leading into the Bombhole and then Coram, two bends that remain unchanged.

The final corner chicane will now be known as Murrays – a tribute to the memorable commentator Murray Walker.

Two short circuit configurations will also include the corner names of Lotus founder (Colin) Chapman – which links Montreal with the Bentley straight as per the former layout -, while the (Ralph) Firman hairpin will be used for when just the short circuit between Palmer and Oggies is used.

"This is an extremely important time for Snetterton, and I'm delighted not only with what we have achieved but also with the volume of glowing tributes we have already received,” said Palmer.

“When we started the process we invited people to contribute to the naming of the new corners, and our web campaign received a phenomenal response. Fortunately there were some pretty dominant names and suggestions, many of which have been incorporated with my own views.

"It was important to select the most appropriate corner for each person however, and I am delighted that that each famous name fits with the character and nature of their corner - like Agostini, one of the best motorcycle racing overtaking corners, or Murrays, which will see an enormous amount of drama and is just the place where Murray's excited commentary would be in its element.

“When we embarked upon this project we wanted to completely transform Snetterton and give pride to competitors, spectators, fans and local residents alike, and I believe the announcement of such superb names for the new Snetterton circuit features will play an important part in achieving this."

Snetterton 300 will host its round of the 2011 British Superbike Championship on 1-3 July.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
The new Snetterton track layout to be ready for 2011 (Pic: Motorsport Vision)
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Elliott, Tyco BMW, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Andy Reid, Tyco BMW, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Elliott, Tyco BMW, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


March 17, 2011 2:10 PM

Can't help being cynical I really can't.. Why are there more parts of the circuit named after people from MSV than people from the world of motorcycling?? A little too self-indulgent for my liking.. Walker is a must and a well deserved tribute..

Mark g - Unregistered

March 17, 2011 8:37 PM

Sears, Revett Straight, the Esses, Russell, all original bends and a straight. They may have changed profiles but the old names should live on. Don't care what they name the new corners althoughthey could have been a bit more relevant to the history of the track and the racers. Still a nice layout for the new track though.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.