Westmoreland quickest in FP3

James Westmoreland claims the fastest time in final free practice, ahead of Shane Byrne, while Alex Lowes is an excellent fourth.
James Westmoreland emerged as the surprise pace setter ahead of British Superbike qualifying at Thruxton after setting the fastest lap time of the weekend in third free practice.

A strong session for some of the lesser fancied names in BSB, it was Tyco Honda's Peter Hickman that looked on course to come away fastest as he held down the top spot for the majority of the session.

However, with five minutes to go, a flurry of late laps would see British Supersport graduate Westmoreland leap to the top of the timesheets, just ahead of FP1 and FP2 pace setter Shane Byrne.

Backing up his Motorpoint Yamaha team-mate, Loris Baz continued his progress around the high-speed circuit, the Thruxton newcomer having gone from 23rd, to 12th to third over the course of just three sessions.

His impressive feat was matched – if not surpassed – by Alex Lowes in fourth position, the new MSS Colchester Kawasaki rider following a similar trajectory up the timesheets as he successfully gets to grips with the ZX-10R.

Martin Jessopp, who started race two at Thruxton from pole position last season, was fifth best on the Rapid Bathams Ducati, once again ahead of his more experienced team-mate Michael Rutter in eighth, the pair split by Tommy Hill and Hickman, who would slip to an eventual seventh.

John Hopkins and Dan Linfoot rounded out the top ten, with reigning champion Ryuichi Kiyonari in 11th position and Michael Laverty in 12th.

In the EVO class, Simon Andrews was quickest aboard the PR Kawasaki in 17th, ahead of Glen Richards in 18th and Graeme Gowland in 21st.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
James Westmoreland - Motorpoint Yamaha
James Westmoreland - Motorpoint Yamaha
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
John Hopkins, Jason O`Halloran, BSB [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Glenn Irwin, Be Wiser Ducati [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Michael Laverty, McAMS Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Bonnie Lane]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.