Sam Lowes wins Race of the Year

Sam Lowes wins the Buildbase Mallory Park Race of the Year
Parkalgar Honda rider Sam Lowes took a hard-fought victory in the Buildbase Mallory Park Race of the Year at the weekend, scoring a new Supersport lap record at the same time in very hot and slippery track conditions.

The first attempt at the race was red-flagged on the second lap when pole-sitter John Ingram on a BMW crashed out on the Stebbe Straight, taking out Triumph's Christian Iddon in the process. Both riders were fine and the race re-started without them over 18-laps.

It was Bogdanka PTR Honda's James Ellison who made a quick getaway on the restart and he pulled out a gap on the chasing pack. Lowes was fourth on the opening lap but quickly got past the riders in front and set about hunting down Ellison, making a tough overtake into the hairpin.

Ellison looked to come straight back on his PTR stable mate but despite keeping the pressure on for the whole race, it was Lowes who took the win by 2.4seconds.

Billy McConnell on a Triumph was third, 16-seconds behind a delighted Lowes who adds his name to the coveted Race of the Year trophy.

"I have really enjoyed racing at Mallory Park, it has been good fun and I hope the crowd enjoyed the race,” he said. “I got my head down once I got past James and knew he would push me all the way. The hot temperature meant there was very little grip so the outright lap record was always going to be difficult, but I am glad to take the Supersport lap record and my first win of the season - now it is back to the World Supersport Championship and I want to win there next."

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Lowes, Aragon WSS 2011
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Andy Reid, Tyco BMW, [Credit: TAS Racing]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


June 28, 2011 7:39 PM

Have i been ignoring the grass roots of our sport . I am really amazed that i didn't know the Race of the year was on last weekend. I Remember when this was one of the main events of the year even for the GP riders and the works teams. How things have changed. Once again though Sam Lowes has shown that he along with his brother Alex are two of the best young riders around at the moment. Well done Sam look forward to your first win on the world stage. After giving myself a good talking to about the old days i will pay more attention to our home events.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.