Hill tops first practice at Brands

The Swan Yamaha rider is determined to overtake his rivals in terms of podium credts at Brands Hatch this weekend.
Tommy Hill held down the fastest time as the eighth round of the MCE British Superbike Championship at Brands Hatch got underway officially, the Swan Yamaha rider heading his key title rivals.

Having been quickest during the test session around the Indy configuration of the Kent circuit yesterday, Hill carried that form to the Grand Prix layout, which will be used for this weekend's three races.

With the current top six riders in the standings filling the top seven positions, John Hopkins tailed Hill in second position as he made his first appearance of the weekend, while Shane Byrne recovered from an early mechanical problem to set the third best time.

Ryuichi Kiyonari and Michael Laverty completed the top five, while Martin Jessopp was a fine sixth as he nudged down Josh Brookes on the Relentless by TAS Suzuki.

A good session for the Rapid Bathams Ducati team, Jessopp's team-mate Michael Rutter was eighth best, ahead of top EVO rider Graeme Gowland and James Ellison.

Elsewhere, the factory Kawasaki World Superbike team were down to 15th and 20th in the order of Joan Lascorz and Broc Parkes , the latter behind his countryman Glenn Allerton, the Australian deputising for Tom Tunstall on the Doodson BMW this weekend.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Tommy Hill Swan Yamaha - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood Photography]
Tommy Hill - Swan Yamaha [pic credit: Jamie Morris]
Tommy Hill - Swan Yamaha [pic credit: Swan Yamaha]
Jake Dixon, RAF Reserves Kawasaki [Credit: MSV BSB Media]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.