Fogarty to star at Castle Combe celebration

Wiltshire circuit Castle Combe is set to celebrate the 60th anniversary of its first dedicated motorcycle meeting in style next month - in the presence of four-time World Superbike Champion Carl Fogarty
Organisers of the Fowlers Pro-Bike National race meeting at Castle Combe next month have pulled off a major coup by attracting four-time World Superbike Champion Carl Fogarty to join in with celebrations for the 60th anniversary of the Wiltshire circuit's first dedicated motorcycle meeting back in 1951.

As part of the celebrations there on Saturday, 3 September, in addition to a host of top-class national racing including the Rapid Solicitors Ducati 848 Challenge, British F2 Sidecars, the British Historic Grand Prix Championship and the Simply Saab Castle Combe Trophy, there will also be a star parade featuring a host of racing celebrities.

Joining Fogarty on the parade lap at lunchtime will be Rapid Solicitors Bathams Ducati British Superbike Championship pairing Michael Rutter and Martin Jessopp on their 1,198cc machines, as well as leading BSB-EVO rider and former GP ace Scott Smart.

Names such as Tony Rutter, David Hailwood and others still to be announced will also feature in the parade, after which fans will get the chance to meet the riders for autographs and photos.

Fogarty set Castle Combe's first-ever 100mph motorcycle lap when he won the MCA Star Race in April, 1989. It was the circuit's first national bike meeting for 20 years, and the ultra-successful Brit averaged more than 100mph for all eight laps en route to a 3.5-second victory over Steve Chambers, with a fastest lap of 102.22 mph.

Adult entry to the event costs £15, with accompanied children under 16 admitted free. A paddock transfer is £2.50, with practice getting underway at 8:45am and racing from 11:20am.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Hodgson, Fogarty, British WSBK Race 2 2011
Fogarty, British WSBK 2010
Fogarty, British WSBK Race 1 2009
Fogarty, Brands Hatch WSBK, 2005
Fogarty, Czech WSBK, 2006
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Glenn Irwin, Be Wiser Ducati [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Michael Laverty, McAMS Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Davide Giugliano, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Davide Giugliano, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Smiths Racing]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Smiths Racing]
From Diggers to Ducatis
Tyco BMW bikes, Motorcycle Live [Credit: TAS Racing]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.