Hill tops Cadwell Park FP1

The Swan Yamaha rider is bidding to add to his podium tally in the three races this weekend.
Tommy Hill's quest to begin the MCE British Superbike title showdown with as many podium credits as possible got off to a good start at Cadwell Park as he paced first free practice.

The Swan Yamaha rider currently leads the way in terms of podium credits, ahead of Shane Byrne and John Hopkins. However, with the latter rider absent due to injury, Hill has a prime opportunity to stretch his advantage ahead of the all-important three-round shootout.

Though Byrne was in contention with the second fastest time, the HM Plant Honda rider was half a second adrift of the in-form Hill.

With Hill, Byrne and Hopkins all guaranteed a spot in the title showdown, attention is focused on the three remaining places, currently held by Michael Laverty, Josh Brookes and Ryuichi Kiyonari. All three got their weekend off to a solid start, with Laverty seventh, Brookes third and Kiyonari in fourth.

However, their closest rival Michael Rutter was similarly on the pace, setting the fifth best lap on the Rapid Bathams Ducati. Peter Hickman was sixth fastest, while Chris Walker, James Ellison and leading EVO rider Glen Richards completed the top ten.

Elsewhere, Tommy Bridewell was 16th fastest on his first official outing aboard the Motorpoint Yamaha, while John Simpson's BSB debut saw him go 23rd, ironically ahead of the man he replaced at Splitlath Aprilia, Hudson Kennaugh, the South African debuting for PR Kawasaki this weekend.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Tommy Hill - Swan Yamaha [pic credit: Jamie Morris]
Tommy Hill Swan Yamaha - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood Photography]
Tommy Hill - Swan Yamaha [pic credit: James Higgs]
Tommy Hill - Swan Yamaha [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Jake Dixon, RAF Reserves Kawasaki [Credit: MSV BSB Media]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.