Hill tops final free practice

The Swan Yamaha rider is already guaranteed to start one race from pole position this weekend by virtue of the Oulton Park re-run.
Tommy Hill continued his fine form ahead of qualifying for the ninth MCE British Superbike Championship round at Cadwell Park by topping third free practice.

The Swan Yamaha rider had been fastest in FP1, the only other dry practice session, and was once again in charge during FP3, maintaining a comfortable two tenth gap back to his team-mate Michael Laverty, who leapt up to second in the closing minutes.

Shane Byrne was third fastest on the HM Plant Honda, ahead of Josh Brookes and Peter Hickman, the Tyco Honda rider putting in a good performance around his home circuit. Continuing his good form from Brands Hatch, Martin Jessopp was a strong sixth on the Rapid Bathams Ducati, while Graeme Gowland led the EVO series in seventh position overall.

Elsewhere, the fight for a top six shootout spot intensified as Ryuichi Kiyonari – who currently holds that crucial sixth place – was only 15th best, while Jon Kirkham and Michael Rutter were ahead in eighth and ninth. Another strong contender for the top six, Gary Mason, was 16th fastest.

While qualifying will decided grid positions for the first of the races on Bank Holiday Monday, the opening race of the weekend will be determined by grid positions from last month's cancelled Oulton Park race.

As such, Hill will start from pole position, with Laverty and Brookes making up the remainder of the smaller than usual front row. Mason, Rutter and Byrne make up row two, while Kiyonari starts back in 15th.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Tommy Hill - Swan Yamaha [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Hill - Swan Yamaha [pic credit: Jamie Morris]
Tommy Hill - Swan Yamaha [pic credit: James Higgs]
Ryuichi Kiyonari, Buildbase BMW, BSB [Credit:]
Michael Rutter (GBR), Gearlink Kawasaki, BSB [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Michael Laverty, Tyco BMW, BSB [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Jenny Tinmouth (GBR), Honda Racing, BSB []
Dan Linfoot (GBR), Honda Racing, BSB [Credit:]
Broc Parkes (AUS), Milwaukee Yamaha, BSB [Credit:]
Shane Byrne (GBR) PBM Kawasaki, BSB [Credit:]
Shane Byrne (GBR) PBM Kawasaki, BSB [Credit:]
Josh Brookes (AUS), Milwaukee Yamaha, BSB [Credit: Milwaukee Yamaha]
Ryuichi Kiyonari, Buildbase BMW, BSB [Credit: Buildbase BMW PR]
Jakub Smrz (CZE), Ducati, BSB Snetterton 300 [Credit: Ducati PR]
Shane Byrne (GBR) PBM Kawasaki, BSB [Credit:]
Josh Brookes (AUS), Milwaukee Yamaha, BSB [Credit:]
Shane Byrne, Josh Brookes, Jason O`Halloran BSB [Credit:]
Tommy Bridewell, Tyco BMW, BSB Snetterton [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2015 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.