Westmoreland returns with WFR Honda

James Westmoreland teams up with leading EVO outfit WFR Honda for the remainder of the 2011 MCE British Superbike Championship season.
James Westmoreland will return to the MCE British Superbike Championship for the final three events after signing with top EVO team WFR Honda.

The former British Supersport runner-up competed with Motorpoint Yamaha before recently splitting with the team, but after watching the Cadwell Park event from the sidelines, Westmoreland will be back on the grid for Donington Park riding a Honda CBR1000RR.

Joining Glen Richards and Graeme Gowland, Westmoreland's acquisition comes as WFR manager Myles Schofield looks ahead to next season and the change in regulations.

"Obviously we have been delighted with the Honda Fireblade this year and our relationship with Honda Racing UK is excellent. It would be a big decision not to continue into 2012 with them but at the moment we have not finalised our plans. In any case, the current Evo bike will not have currency going forwards so it makes sense to develop a 2012 version as soon as possible.

"As it was, we had been hoping that either Glen or Graeme would be in a position to work on next year's bike, but with Glen on the brink of the Championship and Graeme showing so much form on his current Evo bike, we have decided to let them continue in 2011 guise for the time being.

“It really is a stroke of luck that James has become available and although we had a number of potential candidates who could have stepped in to do the job, it was his known ability, knowledge of the circuits and an express agreement to approach the project in the right manner that led to him getting the ride."

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
James Westmoreland Motorpoint Yamaha - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood Photography]
James Westmoreland - Motorpoint Yamaha
James Westmoreland - Motorpoint Yamaha
James Westmoreland - Motorpoint Yamaha
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.