POLL: Who will win the BSB title?

Josh Brookes, Shane Byrne, Tommy Hill, John Hopkins, Ryuichi Kiyonari or Michael Laverty? Who will win the 2011 MCE British Superbike title?
Prior to the start of the 2011 MCE British Superbike Championship season, we at posed the question 'who will win the 2011 title?'

It was a closely contested poll, with its eventual winner – reigning champion Ryuichi Kiyonari – receiving just five votes more than joint second place riders John Hopkins and Shane Byrne. In fact, your top six before the season saw you put Josh Brookes fourth, Tommy Hill fifth and Michael Laverty sixth – the exact sextet of riders that have gone through to battle for the title in the three-round Showdown.

Five months down the line and with things now on a more level footing, courtesy of the controversial points' equalisation system, we are asking the same question…

With three rounds and seven races remaining to dispute the 2011 title, a lot can still happen, though the advantage seems to be with Swan Yamaha's Hill, who has reeled off a series of strong results ahead of the Showdown. Indeed, though he wasn't leading the standings overall – thanks to an injury earlier it the season – his greater number of podium credits place him on 529 points already.

By contrast, Byrne, who has led for much of the year, begins seven points adrift on 522, while Hopkins is down 11 points after skipping the three races at Cadwell Park because of his finger injury.

With fewer wins between them, Laverty, Brookes and Kiyonari start on 510, 509 and 508 points, but with a maximum of 175 points available from the next seven races, the deficits look fairly paltry so long as they can string a few good results together.

But who do you think will be lifting the trophy at the end of this three-round Showdown? To cast your vote, CLICK HERE

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Shane Byrne - HM Plant Honds [pic credit: Ian Hopgood Photography]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
John Hopkins, Jason O`Halloran, BSB [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Michael Laverty, McAMS Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Bonnie Lane]
John Hopkins, British Moto Rapido [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
John Hopkins, British Moto Rapido [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, BSB [Credit: Anvil Hire Yamaha]
Tommy Bridwell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki, [Credit: BSB media]
Tommy Bridwell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki, [Credit: BSB]
Tommy Bridwell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki, [Credit: BSB]
Tommy Bridwell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki, [Credit: BSB]
Michael Laverty, Tyco BMW, BSB [Credit:]
Ryuichi Kiyonari, Smiths BMW [Credit:]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati [Credit:]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

John - Unregistered

September 07, 2011 12:15 PM

So if it made no difference to the result last year, then why bother having it ? How many times does it need to be said... Levelling 6 peoples points with 3 rounds to go at 500 each, where previously their race results had some of them up to 150 points ahead of the bloke in 6th place is COMPLETE AND UTTER B0LL0CKS.... It has nothing to do with whether last years result would have been the same (with or without the shootout) or not... This is a long standing national motorcycle race series and a feeder class for various World Championships , so the scoring system should be the same. No other race series runs this ridiculous system. The riders that have an issue with this stupid scoring concept have an issue for a good reason. It is poorly conceived, favours riders who do next to sod all for 9 rounds, penalises riders who achieve top results for those 9 rounds, and makes a mockery of the accepted and established scoring regulations found in all other national and international motorcycle

John - Unregistered

September 07, 2011 12:24 PM

series. Typical of this immoral, shallow and capitalist society we live in today - Higgs and Palmer being perfect advocates of that - screw around with anything, with no regard for the need for alignment with the international race series whom which BSB clearly emulates, all to make more money... for Palmer !! If Brookes, Kiyonari or even Laverty are awarded the so-called 'title' at the end of all this nonsense, then it will demonstrate what a fabricated and meaningless championship BSB has become. I'd actually rather see Shakey Byrne in either WSS or WSBK on a privateer machine again, where at least his results over the course of the season are representative of how he performed.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.