Hill grabs pole with Donington record

Tommy Hill proves himself to be the man to beat after easing to pole position at Donington Park, ahead of Michael Laverty and John Hopkins.
Tommy Hill's immaculate start to the 2011 MCE British Superbike title showdown continued into qualifying at Donington Park as he smashed the lap record for pole position.

Having topped each practice session heading into qualifying, Hill saved his best until last as he romped to an excellent lap time of 1min 28.869secs, slipping under the lap record.

The only rider to breach 1min 29secs, Hill was a clear four tenths up on Michael Laverty for a Swan Yamaha 1-2, and almost a second faster than third place man John Hopkins on the Samsung Crescent Suzuki.

All six title fighters made it into the top ten, though Peter Hickman signalled his intentions to create an upset by snatching a front row start for the second race in succession. That was enough to place him as the top Honda rider, ahead of Shane Byrne, who could only get to within 1.3secs of arch rival Hill.

Jon Kirkham continued his strong form on the second Samsung Crescent Suzuki to go sixth, ahead of the remaining title fighters, Ryuichi Kiyonari – who was nearly knocked out of Q1 and then again in Q2 before securing sixth – and Josh Brookes.

Graeme Gowland and James Ellison rounded out the top ten, the former securing pole position honours in the EVO class once again.

Elsewhere, James Westmoreland starts a fine 13th aboard the second of three WFR Hondas, with Ian Lowry 18th for MSS Colchester Kawasaki and Alex Lowes in 19th for Motorpoint Yamaha. Gary Mason, riding the 2012 specification Kawasaki, was 20th.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
James Hillier - Bournemouth Kawasaki [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Hillier - Bournemouth Kawasaki [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Hill - Swan Yamaha [pic credit: James Higgs]
Tommy Hill - Swan Yamaha [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Hill Swan Yamaha - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood Photography]
Quattro Plant Kawasaki`s Dan Linfoot
Tyco Suzuki`s John Hopkins
Tyco Suzuki`s Josh Waters
Ryuichi Kiyonari at Donington Park
Shane Byrne on the Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki at Donington Park
Tommy Bridewell Milwaukee Yamaha -
Tommy Bridewell Milwaukee Yamaha -
Shane Byrne Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki -
Shane Byrne Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki -
Ryuichi Kiyonari Buildbase BMW Motorrad -
Ryuichi Kiyonari Buildbase BMW Motorrad -
Ryuichi Kiyonari Buildbase BMW Motorrad -
Peter Hickman RAF Reserves Honda -

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2014 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.