For the first time this season, John Hopkins leads the MCE British Superbike Championship standings following his double victory at Donington Park.

Going some way to defying pre-race predictions - which had Tommy Hill down as the favourite after dominating practice and smashing the lap record in qualifying -, Hopkins was relentless in both races to seal a perfect 50 point haul.

Though Hill still maintained his podium run - 11 in 13 races -, it wasn't enough to have him retain the advantage he assumed heading into the first of three showdown rounds, with three points between the top two.

A fourth and eighth place finish at Donington Park, with the latter result coming having been in the gravel trap at the start of race two, was Shane Byrne's scant reward as he slipped to third overall, already 25 points behind Hopkins in the revised standings.

Similarly, Michael Laverty, who clashed with Byrne, is also now on the back foot after a bright start, the Swan Yamaha man on 532 points, 36 adrift of Hopkins. The two remaining title fighters, Josh Brookes and Ryuichi Kiyonari are on 530 and 518 points respectively, the reigning champion losing ground after failing to finish the first race of the weekend.

Elsewhere, Jon Kirkham has taken an early advantage in what is being dubbed the 'BSB Riders' Cup' with his second podium of the season, the Suzuki rider already 35 points ahead of Tyco Honda's Peter Hickman.

In the EVO class, Glen Richards remains well on course for title glory, even if his WFR Honda team-mate Graeme Gowland has won seven of the last eight races.

2011 MCE British Superbike Championship top ten after ten rounds, including the first of three title showdown rounds

1. John Hopkins (Samsung Crescent Suzuki) 568 points 2. Tommy Hill (Swan Yamaha) 565 3. Shane Byrne (HM Plant Honda) 543 4. Michael Laverty (Swan Yamaha) 532 5. Josh Brookes (Relentless Suzuki) 530 6. Ryuichi Kiyonari (HM Plant Honda) 518

7. Jon Kirkham (Samsung Crescent Suzuki) 172
8. Peter Hickman (Tyco Honda) 137
9. Gary Mason (MSS Colchester Kawasaki) 135
10. Michael Rutter (Rapid Bathams Ducati) 130