BSB Championship standings - Donington Park

John Hopkins sees his name on top of the British Superbike pile for the first time this season thanks to his Donington Park double win.
For the first time this season, John Hopkins leads the MCE British Superbike Championship standings following his double victory at Donington Park.

Going some way to defying pre-race predictions – which had Tommy Hill down as the favourite after dominating practice and smashing the lap record in qualifying -, Hopkins was relentless in both races to seal a perfect 50 point haul.

Though Hill still maintained his podium run – 11 in 13 races -, it wasn't enough to have him retain the advantage he assumed heading into the first of three showdown rounds, with three points between the top two.

A fourth and eighth place finish at Donington Park, with the latter result coming having been in the gravel trap at the start of race two, was Shane Byrne's scant reward as he slipped to third overall, already 25 points behind Hopkins in the revised standings.

Similarly, Michael Laverty, who clashed with Byrne, is also now on the back foot after a bright start, the Swan Yamaha man on 532 points, 36 adrift of Hopkins. The two remaining title fighters, Josh Brookes and Ryuichi Kiyonari are on 530 and 518 points respectively, the reigning champion losing ground after failing to finish the first race of the weekend.

Elsewhere, Jon Kirkham has taken an early advantage in what is being dubbed the 'BSB Riders' Cup' with his second podium of the season, the Suzuki rider already 35 points ahead of Tyco Honda's Peter Hickman.

In the EVO class, Glen Richards remains well on course for title glory, even if his WFR Honda team-mate Graeme Gowland has won seven of the last eight races.

2011 MCE British Superbike Championship top ten after ten rounds, including the first of three title showdown rounds

1. John Hopkins (Samsung Crescent Suzuki) 568 points
2. Tommy Hill (Swan Yamaha) 565
3. Shane Byrne (HM Plant Honda) 543
4. Michael Laverty (Swan Yamaha) 532
5. Josh Brookes (Relentless Suzuki) 530
6. Ryuichi Kiyonari (HM Plant Honda) 518

7. Jon Kirkham (Samsung Crescent Suzuki) 172
8. Peter Hickman (Tyco Honda) 137
9. Gary Mason (MSS Colchester Kawasaki) 135
10. Michael Rutter (Rapid Bathams Ducati) 130

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Ian Lowry - MSS Colchester Kawasaki [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alex Lowes - Motorpoint Yamaha [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alex Lowes - Motorpoint Yamaha [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Michael Laverty - Swan Yamaha [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Michael Laverty - Swan Yamaha [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Michael Laverty - Swan Yamaha [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Start the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.