Yamaha mark return with BSB title

Yamaha's official return to BSB after a year out sees it regain the manufacturers' crown.
Two years after Yamaha withdrew its official participation in the British Superbike Championship, the manufacturer is celebrating its return to glory thanks to Shaun Muir Racing and Tommy Hill.

Yamaha finally won the BSB title in 2009 after collaborating with multiple champions GSE Racing, but the relationship came to an end straight away as the manufacturer scaled back its racing involvement.

Nonetheless, an investment by Yamaha UK would see the manufacturer return with some factory representation in 2011, with SMR being given the nod to switch from Honda machinery.

Signing Tommy Hill and Michael Laverty, and backed by Swan, Yamaha was the most successful machine in 2011, winning ten races, the riders' title and the manufacturers' title.

A big success for SMR in its first season with Yamaha, Shaun Muir was thrilled to watch Hill come away with the riders' title after such a dramatic season.

“We delivered everything we set out to achieve at the start of the season although we have made life difficult along the way! It didn't start the best for Tommy this weekend but he couldn't have done more in that race.

“Big thanks also have to go to Michael for his support in the final race as he did a great job of acting as Tommy's wingman. We want to take this opportunity to thank all of our sponsors, partners and supporters who have made this possible.”

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
John Hopkins - Samsung Crescent Suzuki [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Hill - Swan Yamaha [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Hill - Swan Yamaha [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shaun Muir - Swan Yamaha [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Michael Laverty, McAMS Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Bonnie Lane]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Rob Winfield, Anvil Hire Yamaha, BSB [Credit: Bonnie Lane]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, BSB [Credit: Anvil Hire Yamaha]
Tommy Bridwell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki, [Credit: BSB media]
Tommy Bridwell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki, [Credit: BSB]
Tommy Bridwell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki, [Credit: BSB]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

talkischeap - Unregistered

October 11, 2011 1:22 AM

Well done Shaun! Great result, professional team, determined to the bitter end, Yamaha UK must be happy! You make Rob Mc look like an idiot, but he'll no doubt have his excuses...again....& again.....& again

Yamman - Unregistered

October 14, 2011 10:53 AM

Rob mac's bikes use motec and Swan yams this year used Marelli.Far superior electronics on the Swan bikes but next year all bikes on Motec .Shaun Muir's team will have to work a little bit harder next year to be top Yamaha.they probably will be top Yamaha but i really think he will struggle to retain his championship unless he changes manufacturers but i think he is tied into a 2 year deal.Best electrics or not though,Shaun's teams achievements this year were awesome and it could not off happened to a nicer bunch of lads.good luck in 2012.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.