Top 10 BSB Rider of the Year 2011: 8. Josh Brookes

Nationality: Australian Team: Relentless by TAS Racing Bike: Suzuki GSX-R1000 Wins: 2 Podiums: 6 Championship points: 598 (Showdown) Championship position: 5th

Following his run at the title in 2010 with HM Plant Honda, Josh Brookes found himself lured to the challenge posed by Relentless by TAS Suzuki in 2011, the Australian hoping the acquisition of official Suzuki GB backing would provide the impetus he needed to go one step further this year.

Several months down the line, though Brookes will be encouraged by his performance towards the end of the season, the Showdown format did somewhat flatter to deceive him as closer to a title challenge than he really was.

Indeed, under the previous format, Brookes would have waved goodbye to a title challenge within the opening rounds as he displayed speed, but inconsistency, on the bike, characterised by huge crashes at Brands Hatch and Oulton Park.

Seemingly knocking his confidence a bit, Brookes didn't make it onto the podium until round six at Snetterton, at which point he had been languishing outside the top ten in the overall standings. However, that result preluded a strong run of mid-season form for Brookes, taking another podium at Oulton Park before winning at Brands Hatch after an impressive charge from 13th on the grid.

Firming his place in the top six shootout, despite a controversial altercation with Michael Rutter, one that earned him a disqualification and evoked memories of his infamous 2009 indiscretions, Brookes came into the Showdown with renewed optimism.

An average start at Donington Park didn't help - and would ultimately deny him a shot at the title -, but his excellent win at Silverstone, when he prevailed in a heart-stopping five-way battle, ensured he completed the 2011 season with something positive to show for.

As such, Brookes will stay with TAS for 2012, albeit now under the Tyco banner, in the hope that he can pick up where he left off...

Top 10 BSB Rider of the Year 2010: 4th Top 10 BSB Rider of the Year 2009: 11th Top 10 BSB Rider of the Year 2008: N/A

Top 10 BSB Rider of the Year 2011:

9. James Ellison 10. Glen Richards