BSB Rider of the Year vote: 3rd

You vote Shane Byrne third in's BSB Rider of the Year poll.
Top 10 BSB Rider of the Year 2011:
3. Shane Byrne

Nationality: British
Team: HM Plant
Bike: Honda CBR1000RR
Wins: 6
Podiums: 15
Championship points: 625 (Showdown)
Championship position: 3rd

On paper, Shane Byrne came into the 2011 MCE British Superbike Championship as the favourite, a status buoyed by his two previous titles and his decision to join the title-winning team. In fact, though strange to think so now, Ryuichi Kiyonari was probably his closest rival pre-season.

With that in mind, HM Plant Honda may feel a little hard done by at the end of 2011, Kiyonari's form fluctuating wildly, while Byrne scored more points than anyone over the season, but didn't lift the BSB trophy.

At some stage, the controversial 'Showdown' format was bound to have a year where title winner wasn't the highest scorer and Byrne himself – returning after two years in the more conventional World Superbike Championship - has indicated his displeasure that his efforts were not more recognised in 2011.

Indeed, Byrne was the championship leader – and had been since round two – before the points were equalised, but a fairly lacklustre Donington Park and Silverstone event scuppered his title dreams before even reaching the final round.

Discounted from the title fight heading to Brands Hatch, Byrne restored some dignity by winning twice at his home circuit, results that would subsequently see him out-score Tommy Hill and John Hopkins overall. Naturally, however, it must be remembered that both riders had skipped a meeting each through injury.

Cynics of the system will state that Byrne was the rightful winner of the 2011 BSB Championship, but history will show him as finishing in third position.

Nonetheless, Byrne has plenty to be pleased with on his return to the series, winning on six occasions in 2011 and climbing on the podium another nine times, signalling a successful comeback for the popular 2003 and 2008 champion.

A switch of team and machinery beckons in 2012 for Byrne - and it's fair to say the newly-signed PBM Kawasaki man has some unfinished business…

Top 10 BSB Rider of the Year 2010: N/A
Top 10 BSB Rider of the Year 2009: N/A
Top 10 BSB Rider of the Year 2008: 1st

Top 10 BSB Rider of the Year 2011:

4. Michael Laverty
5. Michael Rutter
6. Jon Kirkham
7. Graeme Gowland
8. Josh Brookes
9. James Ellison
10. Glen Richards

Tagged as: HM Plant , Shane Byrne

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Shane Byrne - HM Plant Honda [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne - HM Plant Honda [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne - HM Plant Honda [pic credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne HM Plant Honda - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood Photography]
Shane Byrne, Glenn Irwin, Be Wiser Ducati [Credit: Carter Sport PR]
Shane Byrne tests Be Wiser PBM Ducati [credit: BSB Media]
Shane Byrne - PBM Be Wiser Ducati [credit: BSB Media]
Jenny Tinmouth (GBR), Honda Racing, BSB []
Linfoot, Tinmouth, O`Halloran, Honda, [Credit:]
Honda Racing, bikes, bsb [Credit:]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing, BSB [Credit:]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing, BSB [Credit:]
Dan Linfoot (GBR), Honda Racing, BSB [Credit:]
Dan Linfoot (GBR), Honda Racing, BSB [Credit:]
Jenny Tinmouth (GBR), Honda Racing, BSB []
Michael Laverty, Ellison, Byrne, [Credit:]
Shane Byrne, PBM Kawasaki, BSB [Credit:]
Shane Byrne, PBM Kawasaki, BSB [Credit:]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.


December 14, 2011 1:35 PM

Any scoring system is purely arbitrary. Should the winner get 10 points and the second 9 points? Or should the winner get 25 points and the second 20 points? Should there be points for Pole? Should there be points for fastest lap of the race? Or should the Title go to the rider with the most wins? The Organisers announce the scoring system at the start of the season and by taking part everyone agrees to it. Personally I like Shakey and I would have been overjoyed if he won the crown, but it didn't happen and the rules can't be changed retrospectively.

© 1999 - 2016 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.