Reigning British Supersport champion Alastair Seeley won the prestigious Joey Dunlop Trophy for the first time at a star-studded Adelaide Motorcycle Awards bash in Belfast on Friday.

Seeley scooped the top accolade after being voted as the Enkalon Irish Motorcyclist of the Year by the public, fending off stiff opposition from Ulster road race specialist Michael Dunlop and World Superbike top gun Eugene Laverty.

The Carrickfergus rider lifted the Supersport crown for the Moneymore-based TAS Racing Team in 2011 in dramatic style, eclipsing fierce rival Ben Wilson in a gripping championship finale at Brands Hatch.

Seeley also won the only race held at the North West 200 last May, emerging on top of a race-long battle with Australian rider Cameron Donald in the wet to reign on the north coast.

This year, Seeley has been rewarded for his efforts with a full-blown British Superbike ride in Philip and Hector Neill's Tyco Suzuki team alongside Josh Brookes.

He will also return to the North West 200 in May, where he will be partnered by new team-mate Conor Cummins in the traditional blue and white Suzuki colours.

Meanwhile, on a sold out night at the Ramada Hotel, Michael Dunlop - a winner in the Superstock class at the Isle of Man TT and a hat-trick hero at the Ulster Grand Prix - was named Road Racer of the Year.

The TAS Racing team collected the Team of the Year award, while Bangor road racing great Steve Cull was inducted into the Bridgestone Hall of Fame.

Antrim's John Simpson was the Young Rider of the Year and Keith Farmer won the Short Circuit Merit Award.

British Superbike champion Tommy Hill was also honoured on the night, receiving the Outstanding Achievement Award, with fellow BSB rider Michael Rutter picking up the International Achievement gong.

Factory Aprilia ace Eugene Laverty was named Short Circuit Rider of the Year.