Seeley wins prestigious gong

Tyco Suzuki rider Alastair Seeley was voted the Northern Ireland public's Rider of the Year in Belfast on Friday
Reigning British Supersport champion Alastair Seeley won the prestigious Joey Dunlop Trophy for the first time at a star-studded Adelaide Motorcycle Awards bash in Belfast on Friday.

Seeley scooped the top accolade after being voted as the Enkalon Irish Motorcyclist of the Year by the public, fending off stiff opposition from Ulster road race specialist Michael Dunlop and World Superbike top gun Eugene Laverty.

The Carrickfergus rider lifted the Supersport crown for the Moneymore-based TAS Racing Team in 2011 in dramatic style, eclipsing fierce rival Ben Wilson in a gripping championship finale at Brands Hatch.

Seeley also won the only race held at the North West 200 last May, emerging on top of a race-long battle with Australian rider Cameron Donald in the wet to reign on the north coast.

This year, Seeley has been rewarded for his efforts with a full-blown British Superbike ride in Philip and Hector Neill's Tyco Suzuki team alongside Josh Brookes.

He will also return to the North West 200 in May, where he will be partnered by new team-mate Conor Cummins in the traditional blue and white Suzuki colours.

Meanwhile, on a sold out night at the Ramada Hotel, Michael Dunlop – a winner in the Superstock class at the Isle of Man TT and a hat-trick hero at the Ulster Grand Prix – was named Road Racer of the Year.

The TAS Racing team collected the Team of the Year award, while Bangor road racing great Steve Cull was inducted into the Bridgestone Hall of Fame.

Antrim's John Simpson was the Young Rider of the Year and Keith Farmer won the Short Circuit Merit Award.

British Superbike champion Tommy Hill was also honoured on the night, receiving the Outstanding Achievement Award, with fellow BSB rider Michael Rutter picking up the International Achievement gong.

Factory Aprilia ace Eugene Laverty was named Short Circuit Rider of the Year.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Alastair Seeley with the Joey Dunlop trophy after he was named Itish Motorcyclist of the Year in Belfast
Andy Reid, Tyco BMW, [Credit: TAS Racing]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Christian Iddon, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Christian Iddon, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Michael Dunlop, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Taylor Mackenzie, Bennetts Suzuki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: TAS Racing]
John Hopkins, British Moto Rapido [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Michael Laverty, McAMS Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Glenn Irwin, Be Wiser Ducati [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Jakub Smrz, Lloyd & Jones/PR Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.