Hill continues to set Brands Hatch

Reigning British Superbike Champion Tommy Hill tops the timesheets at Brands Hatch once again, ahead of Michael Laverty and Graeme Gowland.
Tommy Hill became the second man of the weekend to dip below 46secs ahead of the 2012 MCE British Superbike Championship curtain raiser at Brands Hatch as he paced fourth free practice.

Signalling his intentions by pacing FP3 earlier in the day, Hill lowered his benchmark to 45.979secs to top the timesheets once again, though he remained just short of Shane Byrne's best of the weekend thus far, a 45.954secs set on Friday.

Having been only 15th fastest in the morning, Samsung Honda's Michael Laverty bounced back up the order to end the day in second position, while Graeme Gowland – 21st in FP3 – followed a similar trajectory to go third on the WFR Honda.

A strong session for the CBR1000RR contingent, Ulsterman Ian Lowry continued his strong form on the Padgetts machine in fourth, while Gowland's WFR team-mate Alex Lowes was once again classified inside the top five in fifth position.

Byrne fronted Kawasaki's charge in sixth position, ahead of Barry Burrell who – along with team-mate Dan Linfoot in ninth – marked an impressively competitive day for the Buildbase BMW team. The pair were split by Chris Walker on the Pr1mo Bournemouth Kawasaki, while Stuart Easton rounded out the top ten positions.

Further back, having been third quickest in the morning, Swan Yamaha's Noriyuki Haga could only manage 17th best in the afternoon, just behind fellow debutant Luca Scassa in 16th position.

CLICK HERE to view the full FP4 times.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Tommy Hill on the Swan Yamaha at Snetterton during pre-season testing
TOMMY HILL SWAN YAMAHA - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood Photography]
TOMMY HILL SWAN YAMAHA - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood Photography]
Tommy Hill - Swan Yamaha
Andy Reid, Tyco BMW, [Credit: TAS Racing]
Jake Dixon, RAF Reserves Kawasaki [Credit: MSV BSB Media]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.