Walker quickest in damp final BSB practice

Pr1mo Bournemouth Kawasaki's Chris Walker goes quickest in fifth and final free practice on a drying circuit as inclement weather arrives at Brands Hatch.
Chris Walker moved to the top of the MCE British Superbike Championship timesheets ahead of qualifying for the opening round of the season at Brands Hatch after timing his final lap on a drying circuit to perfection.

The series veteran, who will be making his 208th BSB start come race day, has been a consistent top ten performer throughout the weekend on the Pr1mo Bournemouth Kawasaki, though the wet-to-dry conditions of the fifth and final practice session before qualifying ensured a scramble for the best laps in the final minutes.

Lapping around three seconds off the ultimate pace, Walker was one of four Kawasaki riders to fill the top five, with Tyco Suzuki's Josh Brookes in second place as the sole usurper amongst Gary Mason, Michael Rutter and James Hillier.

Dan Linfoot was sixth fastest on the Buildbase BMW, ahead of Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki's Shane Byrne, GBmoto Honda's Tristan Palmer and Hardinge Honda's Jenny Tinmouth, the female racer making a welcome appearance in ninth.

Despite the prospect of rainy weather for qualifying later this afternoon, as well as race day tomorrow, most riders left it until the drier closing stages to set times, while the likes of Tommy Hill and Alex Lowes chose to set unrepresentative times.

CLICK HERE to view the full FP5 times.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Chris Walker Primo Bournemouth Kawasaki Racing - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Andy Reid, Tyco BMW, [Credit: TAS Racing]
Jake Dixon, RAF Reserves Kawasaki [Credit: MSV BSB Media]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Haslam, Byrne, Mossey, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.