Byrne sets early pace at Thruxton

Shane Byrne sets early pace at Thruxton from Chris Walker, Hill fifth on Swan Yamaha
WFR Honda's Alex Lowes was knocked off the top of the FP1 timesheets at Thruxton following a late charge by Shane Byrne on the Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki.

Byrne was the only rider to break into the 1m15s bracket as he ended the opening session on top with a time of 1m 15.969s, with Lowes also overhauled by MCE British Superbike Championship veteran Chris Walker on the Pr1mo Bournemouth Kawasaki.

Paul Bird Motorsport rider Byrne's fastest lap of 111.64mph put him 0.335s ahead of Walker, while Lowes' WFR team-mate, James Westmoreland, slotted into fourth.

Current champion Tommy Hill, who failed to score any points in the opening round of the series after crashing out in the wet at Brands Hatch, powered his way into fifth position on the Swan Yamaha YZF-R1.

Hill was 0.928s was adrift of Byrne, but completed fewer laps than anyone on track in FP1, with just 11 laps on the 1000cc Yamaha enough to put him ahead of Ulsterman Ian Lowry.

The Padgetts Honda rider made a superb debut at Brands for Clive Padgett's team as he finished in fourth position and has made a positive start at Thruxton.

Lowry had been holding second place on the timesheets for much of the session before he dropped down the order on the CBR1000RR.

Dan Linfoot was next on the Buildbase BMW S1000RR with a time of 1m17.058s keeping him ahead of leading Tyco TAS Suzuki rider Josh Brookes, with Michael Laverty on the Samsung Honda in ninth (1m17.405s), 1.436s behind Byrne.

Graeme Gowland rounded out the top ten on the WFR Honda to join his team-mates Lowes and Westmoreland in the top half of the leaderboard.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Shane Byrne Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridwell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki, [Credit: BSB media]
Tommy Bridwell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki, [Credit: BSB]
Tommy Bridwell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki, [Credit: BSB]
Tommy Bridwell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki, [Credit: BSB]
Howie Mainwaring Smart, Anvil Hire Yamaha []
Broc Parkes, ePayMe Yamaha, [Credit:]
Luke Mossey, Quattro Plant Kawasaki [Credit:]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, BSB [Credit:]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit:]
Leon Haslam, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, BSB [Credit:]
Broc Parkes, ePayMe Yamaha, [Credit:]
Luke Mossey, Quattro Plant Kawasaki [Credit:]
Michael Laverty, Tyco BMW, BSB [Credit:]
Ryuichi Kiyonari, Smiths BMW [Credit:]
Christian Iddon, Tyco BMW [Credit:]
James Ellison, JG Speedfit Kawasaki [Credit:]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit:]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.