Brookes heads opening day at Oulton

Josh Brookes leads the way after second free practice at Oulton Park, ahead of Shane Byrne and Tommy Hill.
CLICK HERE to view the full FP2 times.

Josh Brookes has completed the opening day of MCE British Superbike Championship action at Oulton Park with a spot at the top of the timesheets after a late charge in FP2.

Honours appeared to be going the way of Tommy Hill after he lowered the benchmark to 1min 36.548s in the closing minutes, but Brookes would sweep in with a 1min 36.325secs shortly afterwards to put himself and the Tyco Suzuki at the head of the table.

A similarly good lap from Shane Byrne was also enough to squeeze ahead of Hill, the trio nonetheless comfortably ahead of fourth and fifth place riders Alastair Seeley and Ian Lowry.

Showing strongly once again aboard the Pr1mo Bournemouth Kawasaki, BSB veteran Chris Walker was a fine sixth fastest, ahead of a trio of BMWs, with Supersonic riders Patric Muff and Tommy Bridewell sandwiching the Buildbase entry of Dan Linfoot in sixth, seventh and eighth.

Completing the top ten was Michael Laverty aboard the Samsung Honda, who in turn edged out Noriyuki Haga, Jon Kirkham and Stuart Easton.

Related Pictures

Click on relevant pic to enlarge
Josh Brookes Tyco Suzuki - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes - Jamie Morris
Josh Brookes - Tyco Suzuki                      [Credit David Salisbury]
Josh Brookes    [Credit David Salisbury]
Josh Brookes Tyco Suzuki - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes Tyco Suzuki - [picture credit: Ian Hopgood]
Jason O`Halloran, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Josh Brookes, Anvil Hire Yamaha, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Shane Byrne, Be Wiser Ducati, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Luke Mossey, JG Speedfit Kawasaki, [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Peter Hickman, Smiths BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Tommy Bridewell, Team WD-40 Kawasaki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Bradley Ray, Buildbase Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Sylvain Guintoli, Bennetts Suzuki [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
James Ellison, McAMS Yamaha [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Dan Linfoot, Honda Racing [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Alastair Seeley, Tyco BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]
Lee Jackson, Smiths Racing BMW [Credit: Ian Hopgood]

Join the conversation - Add your comment

Please login or register before adding your comments.

Although the administrators and moderators of this website will attempt to keep all objectionable comments off these pages, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the poster, and neither Crash Media Group nor Crash.Net will be held responsible for the content of any message. We do not vouch for or warrant the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message, and are not responsible for the contents of any message. If you find a message objectionable, please contact us and inform us of the problem or use the [report] function next to the offending post. Any message that does not conform with the policy of this service can be edited or removed with immediate effect.

© 1999 - 2017 Crash Media Group

The total or partial reproduction of text, photographs or illustrations is not permitted in any form.